You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTRODUCTION TO CARTOGRAPHY - DATA VISUALIZATION METHODS (Part I)

in #steemstem5 years ago

Glad to see you back with blogging. I am suffering from the same time issues as you are ;)

I am a bit puzzled. I thought perspective geometry was much older than the 19th century, as use in paintings from the renaissance. Am I wrong?

This being said, I laughed on this one:

The Earth is NOT FLAT by the way.

Sort:  

Hey @lemouth, thanks for stopping by!

I thought perspective geometry was much older than the 19th century, as use in paintings from the renaissance.

You are right, however Cartographers started experimenting with perspective geometry during the 19th century in an attempt to develop efficient methods of depicting the natural terrestrial surface's actual shape with precision.

Hehe, I still can't believe how some people think the Earth is actually flat. It's scary!

Have a great day!

Ah ok. So they started to use it much later compared to art. That is an interesting fact :)

Have a great day too on this rounded planet (yeah I know, millions of hits on google!)

Hahaha! I see what you did there! Have a great day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63626.78
ETH 3301.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91