2 Ways in Which SteemSTEM can Survive and Grow

in #steemstem6 years ago

Firstly, I want to thank everyone involved in @steemstem. You guys have done an amazing job creating such a large community and encouraging people to write hundreds of thousands of amazing STEM (Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics) posts on Steem. Recently, steemSTEM has being experiencing a lot of issues, where people are complaining that some really good steemSTEM posts aren't earning much. In this post I will talk about 2 ways that we can fix this problem.

Encourage the Community to Engage More

When I started on Steemit, I made the mistake of not engaging in any communities. For 2 months, I wrote posts that were in the STEM niche, and since I never used the steemSTEM tag, these posts didn't really do well at all. I carried on writing simply because, I love writing about the things that I love reading about. However, if you look at the posts I wrote when I just started on Steem and the posts I wrote after finding steemSTEM, there isn't a lot to differentiate between then and now. If steemSTEM don't curate my post, the amount that I earn is just as low as when I started on Steem, and the amount of comments is low whether steemSTEM curate or not. This is a clear sign that, aside from the curators, there's not a lot more people that read steemSTEM posts. So how do we solve this? Well unfortunately, the community seems to only be encouraged by money. People tend to only read posts when they know that they will get a good upvote for a good comment. I'm sure you can see where I'm going with this. If SteemSTEM curators upvote good comments on posts that they have curated, I believe that the community will then be sure to read more steemSTEM posts and this would ensure that steemSTEM posts that didn't get curated, would earn more than they do now.

Moderators to Help Curators

Another problem that steemSTEM encounter, is that there is 19 curators that have to read about 1000 posts a day. This is a ridiculous amount of work for people that have full time jobs. My suggestion here, is for steemSTEM to hire moderators that will go through steemSTEM posts and look if the posts comply with steemSTEM rules. From there, they will accept or reject posts. This will make the curators jobs a lot easier, all they would need to do is read accepted posts. This will also help eliminate plagiarism.

This is just my opinion on how steemSTEM can progress, I would love to hear everyone else's ideas. If you agree with my ideas, upvote this post, even though I'm declining payout, so that others can see it.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks for these suggestions. I really do not see the feasibility of any of the two suggestions. Voting on comments mean more time from the management/curators and the community is short on funds in order to employ more hands. Even the ones currently employed are doing more of selfless service.

Yes, I understand that now.
However, I still feel that my suggestions will resolve all SteemSTEM issues but it will need to come from the community.
So I will do what I can to help.

I have to disagree with the first point.

It's almost impossible to vote on comments because the VP of the@steemstem account curators is already getting exhausted every other week voting on all the numerous posts. It's a good idea, but not feasible at the current stage of things and it's only going to get even more hectic as more and more people joins and starts posting steemSTEM content.

The second point, i completely agree on. Although, I don't think steemstem can hire at the moment due to unavailability of enough funds. More like they will appoint volunteers to help them out (which in fact is already on a trial at the moment).

I agree with @simplifylife.
If i am on track, i think the "members"of steemstem should also devote time to upvoting and commenting on other's post. We are a community, we should reach out to one another.

I agree
We, as the members of steemSTEM, need to make it a great community.
We don't need the entire steemSTEM community to do so, we just need a significant percentage of people.
But how do we get that?

I think i already stated it that by commenting and upvoting, we already show the sence of a community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56