You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Probing antimatter in its deepest details at CERN

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Hello @lemouth, another interesting read! Thanks for those blogs, I learn a lot and I'm so excited! I just can't hide it!

The fundamental level, or the ground state, consists in the configuration in which the electrons are closest to the nucleus. In this case, the total atom energy is minimum.
The excited levels of energy are then defined by configurations where one or more electrons are a bit further and with a larger energy.

So basically what I get is that electrons need energy in order to beat some sort of gravitational force induced by the nucleus and therefore move away, right?

Sort:  

You know, the pleasure is also for me to write about it. Sharing some physics with everyone is cool ^^

So basically what I get is that electrons need energy in order to beat some sort of gravitational force induced by the nucleus and therefore move away, right?

Not gravity. Gravity is negligible here. But you have the electromagnetic attraction from the nucleus that is positively charged. The electrons are organized into shells around the nucleus, and depending in which shell they are (closer or further), their energy will be more and less larger.

Alright, I see, thanks for taking the time to provide further info!

The pleasure is for me. I always answer a question (if not, this means I simply missed it and you have the right to re-insist ;) )

I understand. I feel like it is my duty to respond to all questions made on my scientific posts. You've never missed any of my questions, you're a machine! :P

This is my secret. Please don't spread it ^^

I won't let the cat out of the bag :P

the e-cat please ;)

I won't let the e-cat out of the hard drive lol :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87