You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Mushroom Adventure In My Own Back Yard

in #steemstem5 years ago

Cool close-up photos you got there. They made me remember my childhood days of country-side living. Thanks for sharing them! 😊

At first I thought the stump puffball is the one I was thinking of as edible until I read further and spotted Scleroderma citrinum. The latter is the one which looks like the what I have tried eating as sautéed mushroom. It tasted good.

I also tried something that looks like the Amanita phalloides but maybe it is a different variety. I heard something like that is poisonous.

Sort:  

You're right. It probably was the stump puffball. The ones in my picture are really old, and you wouldn't want to eat them at that point. When they are young, they look very similar to the picture of Scleroderma citrinum. Scleroderma citrinum isn't edible.

Oh, so I interchanged what is edible and not. Thanks for clarifying that. 😊 The somehow old version of the edible ones tasted bitter so yes, old ones are not recommended for consumption.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08