You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working With Eczema - the Silent Killer

in #steemstem6 years ago

"...people saying they can't go on, and feel constantly depressed because of what feels like endless misery."
I'm not surprised to hear that so many people with skin problems are depressed, since their condition, pain and itchyness (you name it) is constantly on their mind, just like you said -on a day-to-day basis.
I suffer from different kinds of allergies (not all of them are diagnosed though, which makes living with them even harder) and they usually cause me unwelcome skin reactions. My skin is also atopic, so I'm very dry all around the year. Add some eczemas there and I'm itching all the time. I don't even mind so much about the looks of it (though my skin doesn't look as bad as you described yours) but the constant unpleasant feeling could make me crazy any day if I gave it the power!

So I really feel you, this sucks. Take care.

P.s. Your writing was very good -I love the self-irony.

Sort:  

Hmmm I've been fortunate enough to not be caught in any serious depression, and 20 years is a lot of time to come to terms with the fact that this is happening and there's not a lot to be done about it. I definitely had a few breakdowns in my teens though!

Thanks for caring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67633.45
ETH 3775.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70