You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSTEM Needs a New Name!

in #steemstem4 years ago

What about Alvus Animus, I am not great at latin but a quick google translate shows the following:

  • Alvus - can broadly be translated to Hive (hint, don't let the word bowel fool you 😅)
  • Animus - Latin for Mind is Animo, I felt that didn't roll that good, and took the liberty to change it to animus.

So ultimately it would be Hive Mind, Hive is pretty self-explanatory and Mind because we are the people of the mind, we think for the sake of thinking and the fundamental truth of our nature.

So yeah, my suggestion is: Alvus Animus.

Sort:  

This kind of thinking is exactly the route I've been taking, from Latin variants to Greek/Roman Gods (celestial bodies). The Latin makes total sense in the context of, say, Taxonomy and History.

Glad to see you're thinking in the same way. That being said, I'd rather focus on the 'mind' part than the 'hive' part, since we want to break away from directly associating with the chain itself. Yours is clever to avoid the 'directness' though, I'll give you that! I might indeed consider the 'Animus' part as a new open-door =)

Wow! This is the kind of reasoning I like a lot. But this makes it a bit hard to guess from the name, for anyone outside our ecosystem.

Also I just realised that Animus has its own meaning:

a usually prejudiced and often spiteful or malevolent ill will

heh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70