You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSTEM and Cheetah

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

A question.

I write posts on advanced subjects (Astrophysics, particle physics, cosmology) which I try to make accessible to all, even non scientists, while still going in quite some detail. This is why I do it in series, so I can progressively guide the reader in the depths of things.

Many of my readers are regular ones, but I do think also of the new comers that discover my words for the first time. These need a little summary of the basics of the subject to enjoy the content of the post.

One solution is to give links to my previous work, sometimes to a section where there is a summary of basics. Yet, a new reader will probably not want to click on the link, search for the relevant paragraph, read it, come back, start reading the post, realising they need to review the basics again, go back to the summary, come back again etc... In our days of instantaneity, this is not very practical.

So I started adding an appendix to the articles with just what they need to know on the subject to fully enjoy the post.

The thing is that what they need to know is often common to many posts. And rewriting that appendix with different wording for each post just to avoid Cheetah is a real pain.

My latest post, I really didn't feel like rewriting the appendix so I just copy pasted the content needed as a quote like this:

that's how a quote looks like

I never received a Cheetah notice, so am not complaining. Yet, I suspect that doing this on a regular basis could bring the attention of the bot.

In that persepctive, I feel entirely justified to quote large sections of some of my previous posts as long they serve the role of appendix. Do you have a solution to avoid Cheetah taking it as plagiarism when doing so?

Sort:  

I don't, but I will ask @patrice about it. I suspect that cheetah might already be trained to "ignore" block quotes, but don't have reliable info on that. I know that several people are doing this, so it should generally not be a problem, at least not for us! It's obvious when cheetah quotes your own post that it's yours, and you're not put on the blacklist automatically - a human does that.

So no reason to worry! :)

Thank you @suesa for the clarification.
For now, when my future posts require appendices, I will use block quotes. I look forward to read what @patrice says. Cheers.

Thank you for bringing this up, as I am probably going to have the same problem. I write mainly about plant intelligence, plant neurobiology, and plant music. I only recently started, but I have already had to quote my own text several times in order to explain concepts previously detailed, so I have been thinking about how to do it. Even quotes would seem to be something that eventually get flagged unless they cite the source correctly. I was thinking of having a standard footnote like definition, which I have for some papers and books, but that seems like it would get flagged right away, no?

@yvesoler, There is an easy way I thought about to "cheat Cheetah" but haven't implemented yet. In our case, it would be legitimate:

Image capture. Take an image of the section or definitions you want to place in appendix , and just post such section as an image.

Great suggestion, thank you! I will keep that in mind.

There's a misconception that cheetah is a "plagiarism" bot. She does help us find plagiarism but she's also a fresh content bot. Getting a cheetah comment if you are posting you're own content from steemit.com, posting your own content from another source, or posting fresh content that includes quotes from sources shouldn't have a stigma attached to it.

Those who have posts with quotes sometimes get a comment from cheetah when the percentage of quoted material vs original content is too high or they are just unlucky. No one is blacklisted based on whether cheetah stops by their posts to comment one time or a thousand times.

Sometimes @cheetah is way off base and I think she's been in the virtual catnip. In those cases several have just made good natured fun of her mistake, in others they've reported it and we've changed her comment to "I'm a silly robot!"

If you'd like to help the @steemcleaners team you can respond to any @cheetah comment you get by saying something like - "Thanks! That's my footer, glad it stands out!" or "Yup, that's where I found that quote!" If we have a reason to followup on @cheetah we can easily see the reason she commented and move on.

If I can help let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99