You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The psychology behind conspiracy theories

in #steemstem5 years ago

This is a very interesting topic, and a bit of a can of worms! Thanks for producing a very thought-provoking post once again.
The key is, as I think you mention, who decides what is a conspiracy theory and what is fact? It can't simply be "science", as scientists often disagree. It's easy to say that the belief that the world is ruled by a shadowy group of people is a conspiracy theory, because that simply cannot be proved. But what about not believing the "official" explanation of 9/11? People who question the official government line are often described as conspiracy theorists, whether they have fixed opinions on what actually did happen, or whether they are just researching to get closer the facts.
For this reason, independent thinkers like James Corbett of @corbettreport are often tarred with the "conspiracy theorist" brush, yet he sources his work more thoroughly than most mainstream media outlets.
I am a former magazine journalist, taught to question things. I was drawn to the profession because I've always had a questioning mind. My parents used to say in exasperation, "you could argue black's white"! This is because I have a habit of looking at things from many different perspectives, examining things. And it often puts me in the "conspiracy theorist" category, because I never, ever swallow the government line. I don't take any line. I question everything.

People who feel socially marginalized or unhappy with their lives are more likely to believe in conspiracy theories than those who are satisfied, happy, and fulfilled.

I think there's a reason for this. It's when people actually are socially marginalised – for example after the recession of 2008, when many people lost their jobs – that they start to question the things they used to take for granted. And if those people are not critical thinkers, it can lead them into all sorts of weird beliefs.
But if those people are critical thinkers, it can take them into places mentally that other people fear to tread, and then they are often tarred with the "conspiracy theorist" brush, because they are daring to challenge authority. One example off the top of my head is John Wedger, the former detective constable who has spoken up about under-cover child sexual abuse.
There seems to be a concerted effort going on by the "authorities" to characterise independent thinkers as "conspiracy theorists". I'm referring to things like fake news, the "prop or not" fiasco (which described the work of Dr Michael Greger as Russian propaganda!), Newsguard etc. I think this is partly due to the internet giving many people a means of getting a public audience and thereby competing with mainstream media, and partly due to public anger and questioning of the wars in the Middle East, and bankster behaviour during the recession.
Maybe this is a conspiracy theory, but I think governments are desperately trying to put that genie back into the bottle.

Sort:  

Being a critical thinker is not the same as being a conspiracy theorist. You should always question everything and fact check your sources, that is a good thing to do. We sometimes put a label of a conspiracy theorists on people who do not deserve it. Not all media is the same and not all people are the same. I always laugh when an article says "scientists found" and then does not source where they found it and who (by name) has found it. Internet is great, you will always find what you are looking for, always and the only thing that is going on in politics is power control and wanting more money. People will always want more money and more power and some of them will do a great number of things to get it. Not all politicians are the same, not all reporters are the same and not all scientists are the same. That is why critical thinking and logical arguments are important today more than ever.

Amen to that! :)

I think there's a reason for this. It's when people actually are socially marginalised – for example after the recession of 2008, when many people lost their jobs – that they start to question the things they used to take for granted.

I agree with this. But I also think that the happiness described in this article, can oftentimes be 'fake' happiness. The kind when people think that once they have a good paying job, a nice car, a family, a house etc. that this is what makes them happy. Or what society believes should make people happy. Before the recession of 2008 or any recession really, people were so busy working to pay for all those above things, like mortgage, rent, car loan etc. they hardly had the time to think for themselves let alone do any research on what's going on in the world. If people are 'kept busy' they're less likely to question things, and perceive themselves as being 'happy'. I'm pretty sure of this (but don't take my word for it lol). Then, when so many lost their jobs, there was a sense of fear (not being able to pay the bills) but also a sense of 'being useless' (because in our system, it is OH so important to keep up appearances). resulting in feelings of 'unhappiness'. However, there was also a group that broke away from that, realized that the most important things were really family, friends and real relationships, rather than those artificial ones powered by their status in society. Personally, I believe that part of the recession was a good thing, because it brought people back to their roots, and it gave some people the actual time to do some research. Yes, some of those would have gone overboard with their beliefs, but some did really well with their critical thinking.

I've been called a conspiracy theorist. However, I don't agree. I don't have all the answers. I merely have 'theories' as to how things could have gone down, and how things are acted out. I never take anyone's word for it, I keep researching. But that's the one issue I have with people who are overly reliant on the 'science' of things. They take that science and work that comes from people (who make mistakes) and take it as true. While a lot of those people stamped as being conspiracy theorists never stop searching, researching and questioning.

Absolutely! That is so true - that's what being "addicted to the kool aid" is all about, lol. I lost my job just as the recession was starting. I was already questioning many things before that happened, and I also felt that my career was pointless. When I was made redundant I knew there was no going back to that lifestyle. The work I've done since then has been completely different.

Thanks @misslasvegas for your awesome comment!!! Always on point :)

And you @edprivat, I read your comment on this post. There was a moment when I thought to comment too, it would probably be as long as yours, but I left it as it is. Because I learned not to get into arguments about these subjects anymore, since it's really the other way around: we, the conspiracy theorists (or critical thinker as I like to call myself) keep learning, searching and researching, while 'the others' usually have already made up their minds and know it all. Thank you for taking the time to comment though, I have to agree with everything you say. Great to see you around!

I think you said it all, I normally don't comment much on these posts, but I happen to really like the author's work, she has great posts about being healthy, zen, and psychology so I thought I would try to get my message across, while really trying this time around not to belittle the misconceptions about "conspiracy theorists" and actually explaining what I find dangerous in certain shortcuts, and why I don't agree with the article, with all due respect of course...

It was interesting, because we always end up shouting at each other online, and for once, it didn't happen.

I respect people that respect my opinion, and I wish things could go smooth like this all the time.

Great to see you too @misslasvegas :) keep learning and researching :) don't hesitate to share anything on Discord!

Thanks so much, I love James corbett and I agree with everything that you said...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84