You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Type 2 Diabetes be Reversed? I Bloody Hope So!

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hey bud,

After reading your post, I'm hearing a repetition of what the public seem to think is the enemy: sugar.

Indeed, if you are diabetic, you need to limit spikes in your blood sugar, but it doesn't mean that sugar is the cause of the disease.

The complex interactions of the phytonutrients within whole foods doesn't necessarily create problematic rises in blood sugar when eating whole, natural sugars found in whole foods (eg, dates, nuts and fruit). Thinking about sugar as the problem is like patching the cut on your leg after kicking it repeatedly. The kicking is the cause of the injury, and should be addressed accordingly.

Animal derived fats are said to play a huge role in the development of diabetes as excess fats in the bloodstream interfere with the unlocking mechanism of insulin to allow the uptake of glucose into cells.

I'd recommend reading papers and books by Dr Neal Barnard and the simplification of the research by Dr Michael Greger of the free website, NutritionFacts.

Take care and congratulations on the success of this post.

Nick.

Sort:  

I mean, sugar is certainly the enemy for me. As I said in the post, my whole family has a history of diabetes, so while sugar isn't the direct cause, it is the culprit behind spiking my blood sugar levels - something I have tested both fasting and after eating. Such tests have also shown spikes after eating certain fruits too.

Also, while I'm not contesting what you're saying about animal-derived fats, for me at least, I spent months on a high-fat, high-protein next to zero carbs diet, during which time my blood sugar levels went down to around 6 mmol/L after eating.

Saturated fats and sugar are both huge problems in general for the modern day diabetic, as they both contribute to weight gain and obesity, which has at least some kind of strong relationship with diabetes.

Thanks for the reading recommendations, I'll be sure to check it out.

No worries. Once you find information, it turns out to be a rabbit hole of glorious scientific findings.

Oh also check out a dude on youtube called "mic the vegan".. despite the apparent vegan bias, he has a recent video up also looking at carbs and diabetes. Here's the link worth having a look at.

All the best, my friend. Keep us updated on your journey and new findings.

We are behind you, hoping you get on top of it.

Nick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80