You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Series II

in #steemstem6 years ago

Finding an Amanita like the first ones pictures is on my bucket list! I feel like finding one will be a rite of passage, just like when I found my first morel. I wish I could go on trips like that studying fungi. I am happy with what I saw on your page and I'm giving you a much deserved follow!

Sort:  

We passed through a conifer forest between parks and found it absolutely overrun with Amanitas - just an endless supply of muscaria and rubescens, as well as the some of the Chilean A.toxica. Plus these giant Russulas that were just everywhere. I've never seen anything like it.

Are you a member of your local mycology club or group? There almost always is one and its a good palce to start getting to new areas. This whole thing was the result of cinnecting with the NYMS on facebook and steemit.

I'm not a part of any local club but I have thought on it heavily

I hesistated to get involved for the longest time and Chile really changed things for me. It's really nice to share this with folks in person and you learn a ton that way to boot.

I just checked it's $20 for a year membership in the Illinois Mycological Association! That's cheap! I think I'm going to do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89