You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EGYPTOLOGY: Jewellery and Cosmetics in Ancient Egypt

in #steemstem7 years ago

When I had the museum, the ancient Egyptian jewelry was always among my favorites. The piece "Fig 6" is so strong and hypnotizing, that I almost could not scroll down any further...

Of course the text is brilliant as always!

Sort:  

Thank you @reinhard-schmid. The interesting thing with Fig.6 is that Egyptologists assume that this must have been made by a mesopotamian artist living in Egypt, because it was found in Egypt and has an egyptian ‘style’ but a slightly lack of perfection in execution. A very view details have a foreign touch, although the bull, the lotus blossom and the cobra are all symbols of Ancient Egypt.

Guess I like it then, because I have always been very fond of the perfect imperfect. The bent pyramid at Dahshur or the pyramid at Meidum for instance are my favorite ones.

Even with its lack of perfection, that lotus blossom is overwhelming in its beauty...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86