You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Anthropological View regarding The Ideas on the Causation of Ill-Health Part 2

in #steemstem6 years ago

Nice piece buddy.

I also believe that the environment which a person lives in can also affect the person's state of health, and can also affect the person's immune response to infection.

For example: While we were much younger, there was a neighbour of ours who was raised to be drinking only bottled water and maintaining a high level of hygiene and all whatnot. But a point came when they had to travel to the village.
While at the village, he joined other kids to drink water from the stream. And soon, he developed a very nasty diarrhoea, but the other kids were relatively unaffected.
The reason could be that the other kids are used to the environment, and their immune system has beefed up to ward off those infections, but it wasn't so for the other kid.
So there's still a place of environment in the causation of sickness.

Nice piece as usual buddy. I enjoyed this piece.

Sort:  

Hey Sammi, this is a really nice comment :) Like you, I believe the environment also plays a huge role in people's physical and mental health. Not only because of matters of infrastructure, but also for reasons similar to the one you exposed here.

But, if I may, can I ask what is your opinion about the individual responsibility towards his own health? :)

:*

Thanks for the reply to my comment, Abbey.

But, if I may, can I ask what is your opinion about the individual responsibility towards his own health? :)

In my opinion; a person's responsibilities towards his health can be summed up in one sentence: "take care of your health".

But most times, we could become over-reliant on external aids (like antibiotics and prophylaxis), and we lay lesser emphasis on building our immune system naturally, thus making it weak to fight infections on their own.
Take this example: Our grandpas in the village weren't introduced to prophylaxis, but they live(d) very healthy and long lives... or maybe we should even blame evolution for our weakness in this era - what do you think Abbey? :)

we could become over-reliant on external aids ... and we lay lesser emphasis on building our immune system naturally

So true Sammy!

I have an extreme example of this situation. Last year we were invited to a small dinner party, and for dessert the hosts were serving a rich gateou. One of the invitees (a woman in her 50's) suffers from diabetes type 2 and, really ,should avoid eating such things altogether. However, her approach to this was: "Oh, I brought my insulin because I can never resist their desserts"

The reason why I was so shocked is because this lady was already having huge problems with her charcot foot, and was about to have a cataract surgery (all resulted from her disease)!! I actually felt a bit judgmental towards her. Oops! But, I didn't share my thoughts about it with anybody other than my husband back then!

Enjoy the rest of the afternoon my dear :*

Thanks for this example to buttress my point Abbey.
Have a lovely afternoon.

Much love from here 😙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82