You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Pemphigus? A Personal Perspective

in #steemstem5 years ago

This was an amazing post. Reminded me of a similar disease I attended a meeting about. The disease is called Epidermolysis Bullosa or EB. The one in which skin almost falls off and you have hard time even scratching yourself in peace, because that will make lesions come up. I was horrified after meeting those patients, it was so painful. Turns out PV is in the list of differential diagnosis for EB. Like you mentioned PV and related diseases occur because of autoantibodies attacking the proteins that keep the structure together, EB happens because of mutations in genes like keratin 5 or 14, col7, proteins of basal lamina.

Anyway, glad to hear that you are doing ok now. Stay stress free and eat healthy. Hope it never returns back.

Thanks for sharing this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much. Your kindness always shines through your writing. Putting together a science article for me is a little like going back to school. I know some things and have to learn much more. That for me is a relaxing exercise. And there's always the chance someone will read the piece and get something useful out of it. When my articles pass muster in the science community--that is gratifying.

I think I told you in a comment once that my family has a peculiar experience with autoimmune disease. I won't give the list here...but my brother was struck with voltage gated potassium channel autoimmune limbic encephalitis a few years back. The usual weapons--massive doses of corticosteroids and immunoglobulin brought him back(mostly). He also benefited from being near an excellent medical facility (Emory University) and having the resources to access care.

It would be nice if we could more precisely understand the nexus between environment and genetics before a pathology developed. And it would be really nice if everyone had the means to take your advice: stay stress free and eat well. Unfortunately, we're a long way from both goals.

I wish you and your family good health. Have a most peaceful day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88