You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are boys better in Physics - my own little research

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

Obviously, there are other traits, like ambition etc., but also differences in fostering, interfering with the picture, so it doesn't even have to be the actual talent for physics/math which produces the outcome.
Anyway, the difference does exist, and thus any 1:1 quota is a discrimination against men. Btw.: It is also bad for the women in the field, as they are seen as those who are just here because of the quota, and not because of their skills, even if they are skilled.

Sort:  

Quotas are - bad.

I used to study biology, very "girly" faculty. It was so bad that we were not able to make our sports team, so we played volleyball together with girls. That part was not bad at all :D

I would never vote for more boys in biology.

In my old institute, in Serbia, the majority of researchers were females. The ratio was 2 or even 3 to 1. I was carrying around all the boxes you can imagine. (and no volleyball at all :( )

Now I'm going to work in a physics lab, and we have 3 times more females.

I see nothing wrong in letting all the people to find their niche

You don't have to tell me... When I started in our "food toxicology" department, I was the only male among 7 pre-docs. Nothing wrong with that. We have a female boss, are now (with me) 50/50 split at the post doc level. I can't see why we'd ever need a quota.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89