Anti-Vaxxers´stay away! It is possible to change your mind :D

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

I don´t know about you, but I am really, REALLY annoyed with all those anti-vaccine "opinions" (I am using nice words :))!

Yes, I'm a scientist, but you don't have to be one to have common sense. I just don´t understand...If I am not expert in some field I will listen to the one who is. Yes, I will ask for explanation and evidence to make my opinion, but I will listen to someone who knows more.
Yea vaccines have their side effect and we have to improve them all the time. But benefit from the vaccine is much larger. Aspirin and Ibuprofen also have so many side effects and do you drink them it when you are in the pain? I think you do...

Image source

I feel like...It is monkey business!

Image Source

One of the things I realized in process of learning, teaching my students, giving lectures about vaccines and different debates is that anti-vaxxers and vaccines are guided by the same thing - FEAR!

Anti-vaxxers - fear of being sick as a consequence of vaccine side effects
Vaccine - fear of being sick as a consequence of disease cause

I believe that anti-vaxxers fear is understandable, but not justified. And that is the reason why we have to add more impact to education and information exchange between scientist and people who doubt about vaccine use.

Today I run at one research published in PNAS in 2015. We must admit we all like to be right about some things (ok, all of them! :D), but never ever forget...you have to have exact proov to claim something! I believe that is the reason why there is no point to argue with anti-vaxxers:
more you argue, more they fight back research claim that not me :D

So, how can we make them believe? :)

You already hear that 1 picture tells 1000 words? That's it! Again, research claims that!

In honor of that research...


Image source

Sort:  

I must say I'd agree 100%. Antivaxers are great to watch for good examples of cognitive bias and just plain ignorance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73