You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Random Find - Fomitopsidaceae Family - Possibly Hapalopilus genus, maybe nidulans species (Thanks @fabulousfungi)

in #steemstem7 years ago

This is amazing..I <3 mushrooms. Followed. There are a lot in my neigborhood. I shoud start to take more pictures and post for others.

I also cultivated some Pleurotus Ostreatus, they are delicious. Thank you for this :)

Sort:  

Ohhh yummy- mushroom cultivation is a hell of a lot of fun

Yes it is. I ordered some cultivation boxes. They were cheap compared to the amount of mushrooms it produced. Next time I plan to order just the spores for Pleurotus. I already researched the 'recipe' on how to do it properly and clean.

That's the next step - properly decontaminating and incoculating your own medium - coffee grinds and woods chips are both solid -also you could just do plugs in a solid log of wood!

Yeah :) ..I will do it with wood chips. Boil them before putting them in a bag or a big bottle with holes. Will wash the recipient properly before use. I know about the log solution, but I am not sure about decontaminating it, so I will stay with wood chips. Cheers!

I tried the plugs and did not do a thorough job with waxing the plugs after wards - got a couple of flushes of oysters - but pretty small, and side by side with abhalf dozen othen fungal species ranging from slime molds to other random polypores. Haven't done it again since because I'm lazy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65