SteemSTEM Distilled #19

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the 19th issue of SteemSTEM Distilled, a bi-weekly curation effort by the members of the @steemstem team.

SteemSTEM is a community driven project which seeks to promote well-written and informative Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics posts on Steemit. The project involves curating STEM-related posts through upvoting, resteeming, offering constructive feedback, supporting scientific contests, and other related activities.

For more details, a recent update on the steemSTEM can be found here, and a not so recent one there. Moreover, if you ask yourself about what it means to be part of steemSTEM, please check here.


Our team scours the platform for original and quality content.

After working through thousands (literally!) of STEM-related posts and upvoting more than 150 that we deemed to be worthy, we proudly present you our top 6 handpicked choices for this Monday-Wednesday period.


Monday


A Brief History Of Cataract Surgery : Part 2

Eye cataracts are the leading cause of blindness, accounting for about 50% of the total cases of blindness. In this second part of the series, @himal continues his historical review of cataract surgery from the ancient times to today.

The Taj Mahal









Situated in the city of Agra, stands the of the highest feats of ancient engineering, a breath-taking site, the Taj Mahal. In his latest post, @akeelsingh takes us in an inner tour.









Tuesday


Cool things we do with Satellites #6 : Near real-time detecting of oil spills worldwide

In another episode of cool things we can do with satellites @fredrikaa shows us how scientists use them to monitor and report oil spills in real time.


The Amateur Mycologist #35 - Update - Likely Licea variabilis Slimemold! Morphological Transformation Caught On Time Lapse - In Depth Analysis



Our fungi expert @dber shares photos and information of yet another of his great finds, this time Licea variabilis. He even made a time lapse video of the fungi growing! Really cool stuff!





Wednesday


Nanobots and the coming zombie apocalypse




@sustainablyyours explains us how an army of zombies could be helpful to rule the world.... In fact, more seriously, he is telling us everything about nanobots and the associated technology. A must be read!






Luna-2: First spacecraft to reach the moon






@proteus-h told us about a Russian piece of technology (at least 60 years ago) that was the first man-made object to touch down the moon (60 years ago). All the glory details are in the article!




A few words about the nomination process


For the sake of transparency we feel we need to clarify how our nomination process works; each issue is compiled by certain members of the SteemSTEM community. This mid-week's editorial team was comprised of @trumpman and @lemouth.

The editorial team chooses their favorite posts for the week and each issue is the result of their joined effort. In order to keep the process fair, posts written by the editorial team are excluded from the nomination process.

Don't be discouraged if you didn't make it on this issue. The competition is harsh and there is always a next time :)

All curation rewards earned will be used to fund @steemstem project functioning and activities.

See you all next Monday!

Sort:  

For these only 3 days, we had to pick 6 posts out of 170. The steemSTEM growth is continuing amazingly. I would like to benefit from this comment to emphasize that this also means much more work for us. We are trying to shed light on all the valuable posts that can be found. However, the flow is now what it is, and we are only humans. Please keep this in mind ^^

And of course, congratulations to all selected authors!

Wow, so many posts that distilled is bi-weekly now. Awesome!

Yeah, we decided to make the distilled bi-weekly so that we could feature 14 posts in total: 6 on Thursdays and 8 on Mondays.

I am no human

I knew it! :D

Human-machine hybrid? :D

Human-exotic animal hybrid with 2 penises.

Such a super-human effort! Well done and some awesome articles here! :)

I am happy to read that you liked the selection :)

This is a big achievement.Selecting a good article from the huge number of authors is always difficult considering you have a limited time.
Many congratulations to the authors.

All these things take so long... People have no idea (and you can imagine how I feel when people complain about votes) ;)

Choosing the publication is quite difficult, seeing such good content should be difficult to choose. Keep the initiative that wonderful.
I want to break the barrier of the virtual world to get closer to the real world, the bad thing is that I can not benefit everyone, it is restricted to the area where I live, but I want to make a raffle for a dental consultation with a free cleaning. (something like the challenges of steemit), I do not know what you think @lemouth or if you can guide me, I thought about doing a post explaining a bit of what I want to offer.

I don't know what a free cleaning could be without meeting you in person. But feel free to try. If you want to interact directly with people, you can also try to visit us on the chat :)

This seems like an amazing community you guys have made here! Coming from other alternative sites, I'm shocked at how active it seems to be.

Thanks! I don't know any other alternative site with a science community (mainly because I didn't look for it). Therefore, I am glad to read your comment ^^

I spend most of my time over on the website, Minds, at the moment. I personally enjoy it quite a bit (similar to facebook in use/navigation but different in format/moderation) but the science community has been slow growing. It's mostly just a handful of us with larger channels trying to encourage growth for smaller users. (A few of us tried out Gab but they didn't seem terribly receptive, haha).

I was about to come in and do the regular "congrats winners!" and then I was like, waaaait a second, that's me! :D

Thanks for getting featured ^^ many superb articles here. Good work!

I'm not surprised your post was featured buddy, the post was just wow!! Also enjoyed reading @himal post too

But why don't you just self-congratulate yourself then? :D

I salute the efforts of the entire steemSTEM management. You all have proven what true leadership is

Thanks for your nice comment @samminator!

Very nice post. I new be in steemit. I hoping your suport

Great .... Very interesting post and useful for all steemian, can open the insight for us all about it, and this is a post that I've been waiting for a long time ..

Not so long... As the last one was released 3 days ago :D

Nice articles. You're educating me also with your articles.

Please tell it also to the featured people. They will be even happier :)

I like your article and I have your folow if you have time to visit my bog because I am new member in steemit

You have my vote so that you continue increasing that project. Regards

This is an excellent choice and congrat to those that have their post feature on @steemstem bi-weekly featured post.

Glad to read that you liked our selection :)

Oooh, we've got some fun ones this time around! I've never even heard of Luna-2 before.

Same for me, before I read the post ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81