You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: History and Evolution of Computer Programming Languages

in #steemstem6 years ago

Very good article. Having worked with many of these languages, I really enjoy looking at the evolution of programming languages. I started with C and C++ but also around that time I was working with Common Lisp. For a while, I also worked with the old Fortran, Smalltalk, Python and Perl.

Sort:  

Nice to see an experienced programmer like you here sir, looking forward to learning more coding from you soon.

I really enjoy looking at the evolution of programming languages.

Evolution of programming languages is often overlooked in the computing world.

The way I see it, the more languages I know, the more tools in my belt. As a result, I have been fairly language agnostic for the past 20+ years as a freelance programmer.

Many of the developers I work with, know like 2-3 languages max and they swear by them. I personally don't have a specific language that I really think is a good catch all for all of the use-cases that I end up working on (Not like those JavaScript devotees who try to use it everywhere). Every language has its own set of Use Cases and Niches for the most part; except in cases where the newer language is basically just an upgraded version of the older one (the Lisps, ALGOL, ML etc).

You just explained it all, many times the project at hand determines the kind of programming to learn and make use since each programming has its limitation. It is good to have that kind of your experience at times in order to be fittingly fit in the industry. I'm sure with your experience in the aforementioned programming languages, you will easily adapt to any new language. Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68342.52
ETH 3806.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63