Storms on Mars and Saturn

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Three Stormy Planets

A few nights back I managed to get some nice images of the three planets Jupiter, Mars, and Saturn, which are now nicely positioned in the evening sky. The biggest surprise was the development of major storms on Mars and Saturn. As usual, I used a 36cm aperture Schmidt-Cassegrain telescope and a QHY183c camera. The conditions were only fair, so there was a little bit of loss of detail.

Actually, I'm planning on buying a TV Powermate 2.5x Barlow lens with STEEM. This will enable me to get slightly better images, but of course, as soon as I decide to power down a little the price of STEEM falls - blame me :( !

Mars

First, of is Mars which is still a few weeks from it’s closest from earth. When watching the planet live on the computer screen, I was a little disappointed in how blank the planet was. At the time I put it down to atmospheric “seeing” but even after the images were processed the planet looked surprising bland. Perhaps I should have been paying a bit of attention to the news, as it seems a major dust storm has kicked off on Mars! See here for more information from http://www.skyandtelescope.com/astronomy-news/observing-news/martian-dust-storm-2018/ . Anyway, here is the captured image from June 12, which shows a prominent polar cap (south pole) and the effects of raised dust which have obscured detail on the planet.

Poor old Mars lander Opportunity is currently hunkering down in sleep mode due to low power from lack of solar power recharging. Hopefully, it can get a charge again when the storm subsides and then reboot.

Meanwhile on Saturn

Meanwhile, Saturn is experiencing a storm of its own with this bright cloud feature visible near the planets southern pole. Here is an image of the planet and the storm (near the top middle of the planet) from June 12. It may not look like that much at this scale, but this storm is about the size of the earth.

2018-06-12-1504_0-800px-smoothed.jpg
Image Credit: Author

For a closer view of a Saturnian storm, I have included this image made by the Cassini spacecraft in Feb 25, 2011. This is many times larger than the earth and certainly larger than the storm currently on the planet. These features seem to appear every few years or so.

PIA12826.jpg
Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/Space Science Institute

One for Jupiter

Lastly, here is Jupiter on the same night. One of it’s Moons is casting a shadow on the planet, and because the images used to make this photo were made over several minutes so the shadow is blurred. As in normal, Jupiter displays a complex cloud belt system, festooned with numerous storms.
2018-06-12-1236_3-proc.jpg
Image Credit: Author

I hope you enjoyed those images, all taken from my backyard in Brisbane. My schedule is a bit tight in the next few weeks but I hope to have some fresh articles in mid-July.

steemstem.png

SteemSTEM is a community project with the goal to promote and support Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics on the Steem blockchain. If you wish to support the steemSTEM project you can:

Contribute STEM content using the #steemstem tag | Support steemstem authors | Join our curation trail | Visit our Discord community | Delegate SP to steemstem

Convenient Delegation Links:

50 SP | 100SP | 500SP | 1,000SP | 5,000SP | 10,000SP | 50,000SP

Sort:  

Hey @terrylovejoy, I hope you're having a wonderful day!

Those images are stunning! That Saturn image from June 12 is amazing! It must be a great feeling to see this through your telescope in 'real time'. Extremely interesting!

Keep up the good work!

Thank you @lordneroo!

I love the ice cap showing nicely on the Mars Photo. Good stuff

Thanks @stabilowl, I think what we are seeing at the moment is the carbon dioxide evaporating out of the ice cap to leave just the water ice behind.

Hey @terrylovejoy

I must comment your efforts at getting these images. Very commendable exploit!

Regards

@eurogee of @euronation and @steemstem communities

Thank you @eurogee, a lot of time goes into getting the images but I still enjoy the effort immensely!

Hi @terrylovejoy!

Thanks a lot for this good read about the three stormy planets. It was interesting reading about all the three planets Mars, Saturn, and last but not the least Jupiter! :)

The planets are pretty dynamic, they are constantly changing. Mars seasons are also very interesting because it's distance to the sun changes significantly (unlike the earth).

Those are some amazing backyard photos.

Thank you @mathowl...btw the T-Shirt arrived the other day and my daughter loves it (it's a bit big for her though!).

Thanks for buying :) I am sure she will grow into it. Pi is very nutritious.

I think she will need a lot more Pi!

I love space photos. I always have trouble believing planet photos for some reason XD storm the size of earth sounds pretty terrifying x_x

goatsig

Your right the scales of these things is extraordinary.

Hi @terrylovejoy!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

That's a great picture of the Saturn storm

Thank you, I'll try to get some more resolution on it soon. You can just start to see a hint of structure.

Mr Astropologist, dont mind my word! its not in the dic... nice shot on the head of these planet!

I'll take that as a compliment. Thank you @wisdomdavid!

Absolutely great images Terry! Chapeau! :-)
I hope the price for STEEM will rise for you until they are powered down.
The high focal length in combination with the small pixels of the QHY183 would be a big deal. What focal length you will get with the Powermate?

Almost 10,000mm focal length, depending on whatever spacing I get, this get's me an image scale of 0.05 arc second/pixel. This would be a bit too high for a mono camera, but because this a color camera you have to compensate 2x for the red and blue channels. Will wait for some addition STEEM buying volume.

That's very impressive. When I think of my 420mm, ... :-D
The arcsecond/pixel resolution is a science. I was told that my 1.92 arc second/pixels are already too much, but I'm very happy with it, and I think it could also be smaller without any troubles. I guess it depends on every part of the setup and it and it cannot be generalized.
I'm very curious about the pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02