You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hypatia - Female Scientists Who Aren't Marie Curie

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Philosophers of the age increasingly saw Christianity as incompatible with their moral codes and the Neoplatonism philosophy that underpinned their lifestyles. The philosophers of the future would be pagans, and firmly opposed to the Church, but they would suffer and for centuries by slaughtered for this opposition. Hypatia became a martyr for the philosophical movement.

I think this is a very wrong depiction of what was going on at the time. You state ''the philosophers of the future would be pagans'' which is very wrong, as there were multiple Christian philoshophers prior to Hypatia and of course after Hypatia. Justin the Martyr is a fine example.. A Christian martyr who found death at the hands of the Romans almost three centuries before Hypatia.

What about the thousands Christians who were persecuted by the pagan powers?
What about St. Augustine, or the early church fathers?

I think you are totally biased in your depiction against Christians.

Also, what makes a Christian? If I call myself a Christian and go slaughter and pillage, would you say that I am a Christian? I don't think so... It doesn't matter if I carry a cross around my neck and call myself a Christian, ultimatelly the judgement of my faith comes from my actions and not by how I call myself or how I externally look. But that's a whole different story.

Sort:  

If you all yourself a Christian, you are a Christian. That's all that matters... if you want to claim only good Christians are actually Christian, then you're kidding yourself.

Classic Roman philosophers followed a specific approach to their learning and teachings, which was arguably not compatible with Christian teachings. While there were two branches of Neoplaplatonism vying for popularity at the time (one which accepted Christianity (the one Hypatia followed) and one which actively opposed it). The murder of Hypatia cemented the dominance of the branch which opposed Christianity. After Hypatia's death philosophers were no longer interested in pretending their teachings could co-exist with the church.

Once again, I am speaking about Hypatia and the Christians + Church she faced in her time. I see no relevance of Justin the Martyr... a man who lived and died three hundred years before this story, in a Rome where the Christians did not yet have a significant amount of power.

Given how you've chosen to comment on this post, I don't think you're interested in hearing a single word against Christians and I don't think you're capable of deciding what is or isn't bias. For centuries Christianity was directly opposed to mathematical, philosophical and scientific progress.

I also find it astounding that in an article about an intelligent and powerful woman who fought against the norms of her time and passively opposed a violent and corrupt regime which ultimately murdered her... all you find to complain about is how someone has called out your precious religion. Perhaps the reason Christianity remains so out of touch is an inability to look beyond its own shortcomings even for a moment to appreciate the achievements of others. So if my article is biased, tell me which of Hypatia's achievements were unearned? How was she not a phenomenal mathematician, scientist and educator? Because in the end, that is what the article is about.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77