You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A new proto-sensei to get a better grip on dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

Glad to see you're back in action. I just made my first post in a while and it feels good.

This is the first time I've seen you mention sensei. I figured that had to be an acronym for something and my google search revealed that it stands for Sub Electron Noise Skipper-CCD Experimental Instrument. That made me think of something that's been bugging me about this dark matter detection. How do you avoid or account for noise in the detectors? My apologies if you've already covered it in a previous post.

Sort:  

I really enjoy writing, but I can only do that when I have free more time left from my work (and I use most this time to continue developing the app; for instance comment preview is new, and I am currently developing comment editing). I guess the similar applies to you as well. Time ...

To go back to your question, the key issue is to have a clean signal. The detector technology is such that the experiment is basically run in a background-free environment. Any event in which the noise is larger than expected is first rare, and next rejected.

There is some left-over background noise of course, but once it is small and well understood, anomalies (i.e. dark matter signals) can be easily seen. For instance, you casn check figure 1 in 1901.10478 and check the order of magnitude of the y-axis values. This gives you the tiny noise expectation.

Now, if you need the technological details on how to get there, I am afraid I can't answer (as I am a theorist :p). But all details can be found in 1706.00028.

Cool. Thanks for the detailed reply!

You are welcome! Sorry for not being able to give more technical details (but we are reaching the frontier of what I know ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87