You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homophily - The Reason Why The Internet Is So Full Of Drama

in #steemstem6 years ago

I think it is sad, and rather alarming, that many people seem unwilling to go outside their own echo chamber, much less invest the time to actually dig into an issue in a deep and meaningful way. Many of my relatives are Fox echo chambers. The ideas, words and phrases that I hear from them are straight from Fox. They are convinced that everything is opinion and that no one is reporting facts. They are not even willing to sit down and listen to deep discussions, such as those on Russ Robert's EconTalk. One of my favorite quotes is "Every man is entitled to his own opinion, but not his own facts." A quote often attributed to the late Senator, Patrick Moynihan. Unfortunately, these days it seems that many people feel that only opinion matters.

Sort:  

Thanks for the link to the EconTalk website. I will definitely be checking it out.

What I like the most about Russ Roberts is that is very up front about his biases/beliefs (he is very pro-free market and anti-government intervention), but he also plays devil's advocate to his own beliefs. I've learned a lot by listening to his show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88