You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A pitcher plant ecosystem, or "I eat flies with a little help from my friends."

in #steemstem6 years ago

This was a great read, @effofex. I as not familiar with the complex ecosystem found in this pitcher plant, so I certainly learned something new. It never occurred to me that there could be a species of mosquito who depended on this plant.

Sort:  

I actually had no idea either about the mosquito. I initially got interested in the topic when a colleague mentioned that purple pitchers are extremely low in digestive enzymes and that the microbial community is important. It just got more and more interesting the more I read.

It seemed like a very interesting rabbit hole to go into!

Just so long as I don't end up getting trapped and digested. ;)

Well, it would make for interesting news to see a human being consumed by a carnivorous plant :P

Or at least a nice musical...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86