You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nanotechnology inspired by the study of butterfly wings (Biomimicry)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Super happy to have found this post. I am a biomimic and facilitate the biomimicry design process, and I have been looking for more discussion around biomimicry on Steemit. I am teaching this weekend, but my plan is to write more about biomimetic innovations and also questions around different organisms. Do you think there could be enough interest for a biomimicry tag? If not, what tag do you think these things should be under?

Sort:  

My apologies for the delay in responding! In the city where I live there have been serious problems with electricity and the internet that have kept me away from Steemit.
I love Biomimetics, I am fascinated by the way nature provides optimal solutions to our problems. It would be excellent to promote a label for biomimicry, I support the idea. I used technology label for this post, but I think it may not represent its true essence.
I'll follow you to be aware of your publications, thanks for your support!
Have an excellent day!

Happy to follow you, as well. Si encuentras contenidos interesantes sobre este tema, déjame saber. Or if you have topics you would like me to elaborate on, I would be happy to do that. I find that most people are using the same examples to describe biomimicry, when there are so many more. I will try to bring to light some of the great work happening in this area.

Excellent! It would be interesting to know more about the studies that are being carried out in this area and what species they imitate.

If you go to AskNature, you can search for "butterflies" and find some of the functions that are being researched for different projects. Color, flight, thermoregulation, self-cleaning... these are just some of the functions that are being investigated. Go look for yourself!

And did you see my last two posts on Biomimicry: Function Cards and episode 2 of Biomimicry Inspirations. Would love to hear what you think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77