The Greatest Love of All: Coffee painting ft. Colored Pencils

in #steemsummit6 years ago (edited)

kjbvc.jpg


Hello my dearest steemians! It's been a while since i made artworks, well, because of loads of schedules and stuff at school, i don't have enough time to make this earlier. The portrait i made is my entry for Steem Summit's Call for Art Submissions. @steemsummit posted the calling of submissions 23 days ago, and the deadline of the submission was on the 21st of March. . And i suddenly got upset at that time coz the deadline was coming near and God knows how i just wanted to join this event, but i don't have enough time to make an entry for this as well as the time left was not enough for me to make it satisfying. And so, i went on to the groupchat and i have read that there are other steemians who requested an extension for the submissions. There i tried to regain some energy to help them convince the committee .. And then luckily in the end they got convinced and decided to extend the deadline, Steem Summit's Notice of Extension for Art Submissions.. Thank you so much to @ybanezkim26 for the consideration and to all the persons behind the success of steemsummit... God Bless you all..


I just finished my entry, so here is it.. If you read it till the end, you'll understand the underlying of the title.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

At first, I made a free-hand drawing using a simple B leaded pencil.

IMG_20180404_224928.jpg

Next is the coffee painting. This is my first time doing the coffee painting, i've heard a lot about this kind of stuff elsewhere and so i gave it a try..
At first, I have second thoughts in my mind coz' i really don't know what it would really look like.. haha
But, how would i know if i won't try it? So, let's go!

2.jpg

Since i don't have a paint brush or any painting material, i just used cotton buds, cotton balls, and a toothpick to do the strokes.. haha, i'm just trying to be resourceful here.

vyrybgh.jpg

dhghy.png

Why did i chose this to draw this portrait?

Well, first and foremost, i have always wanted to make something that could make an impact. I chose this because, it represents children's dignity. Every time i'm out on the road, i see children around the streets, like small little child who should just play a doll house or legos and toy cars. But what did i see? Children who are, running, chasing along the roads, all untidy and grimy, and begging every person who walks on by them to give them some money or foods to eat..

a.jpg

I couldn't help it but my heart felt a sudden pain and my eyes almost come to tears. I wonder how did these children deserve this kind situation in their life. Yes, i know, we know, that it's not their fault that they were born like that, but it would be their fault if they grow old and die being in the same kind of situation.

b.jpg

After the coffee painting session, I got an idea of combining the use of coffee and the colored pencils. I used it to give it more details and enhance its precision.

Now, going back to the situation, in the case where they are involved, what i want to conceive here is that these children have always gone through tough times in their lives even if they were still young. They might consider their situation as a hindrance to attain any certain points in their life. They might think that they will always be that way.

IMG20180405222548.jpg

I knew someone, she grew being unwealthy, and her parents didn't have a stable job or business that could sustain them all. She has 8 siblings. Her parents didn't want them to go to school as they believe that it is useless to send the in school and they even told her that it's just a waste of time and money..

c.jpg

But she still beg her parents to send her to school because she really wants to and she has goals and dreams. Unfortunately, she still failed to convince her parents to send her to school. Her father even told her to just leave their house if she really wants to pursue her dreams or stay and live the life that was set for them.
What did she do?
She then left their house without the knowledge of her family. She applied for different jobs and was able to find a work. She live out her life and send herself to school. In college she applied as a working scholar.. She continued her journey, she said there were a lot of time that she almost gave up, but she didn't coz she knows what she really wants and that she wanted to make her dreams come true..

d.jpg

Along with her journey in college, there i was able to meet her. I never saw it coming, when i first met her, i can't believe what she has gone through coz she always seems happy and smiling. But when we started to talk more often we opened up about each other's life. There i realized that no matter how deep you are sunked in the ocean, if you really wanted to survived and live out your life to the fullest, you must always believe that YOU CAN, and keep striving to attain the highest, but always keep your feet on the ground. God knows how grateful i am to meet this kind of person, She opened my eyes to see that there is more to life.

DNJCC,N,.jpg

One more thing, I remembered a song, and it always come to my mind while making this entry..
it was entitled "The Greatest Love Of All", The lyrics of the song can relate to what i am pertaining with this matter..
"I believe the children are our are future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children's laughter remind us how we used to be
Everybody searching for a hero
People need someone to look up to
I never found anyone who fulfill my needs
A lonely place to be
And so I learned to depend on me
I decided long ago
Never to walk in anyone's shadows
If I fail, if I succeed
At least I'll live as I believe
No matter what they take from me
They can't take away my dignity
Because the greatest
Love of all is happening to me
I found the greatest
Love of all inside of me
The greatest love of all
Is easy to achieve
Learning to love yourself
It is the greatest love of all"

It's such a beautiful song, must hear it if you haven't been. It is sung by Whitney Houston.

This is the reason why i ended up making this as the Title.

That's what i wanted to imply, to all the children and to all people in the world.
I don't know if there are people who also see my perception or idea 'bout this but i want to keep it tact.
Dr. Jose Rizal (Our National Hero) once said to one of his writings, "Ang Kabataan ang Pag-asa ng Bayan"("The Youth is the hope of our town")..
How could the children be the hope? If even to themselves they'll lose their hope.
Let us give these children the pride and dignity they deserve, not as a child, but as a human.

You have the life. LIVE it!

And i guess the definition ends here..

Thank you so much for taking your time to read and for dropping by, I hope you enjoyed it..
May you have a blissful and great day ahead.. :)

Truly Yours,
@geeyang15

steemit.png

@steemartists
@artguildph
@bayanihan

Sort:  

@geeyang15 really fantastic write-up about your coffee painting art. The finished product is so artistic and lively.
Best part is you have outlined the process of painting such art piece which is a great sharing of skill and knowledge. A real intention to share
Cheers for your excellent work

Thanks a lot @digitalmind.. I'm glad you found it, i am grateful to share this to you and to everyone.. :)

It's so beautiful, honestly you deserve an award for this beautiful art

WOW! I would really want to see this on the exhibit! It is awesome, this is the first time I 've seen coffee painting, I do know charcoal painting but this one is unique plus the story along with the painting about the struggle of the person you've known is inspiring. I hope, those children along the street will find their way home. If you don't mind me asking,
Is the coffee sticky when you use it for painting? Ahahaha I love art but I am not artistic ....

hello @orhem.. :) Thank you so much for appreciating... hehe.. yes it is.. i just applied a little amount of water in it so it is sticky.. hahaha.. You can try it sometime, do it with passion coz you know you love art, and i know you'll get better each time..

This is real and fashionable.keep it up

This is a very beautiful portrait. Good job. I wish i could draw a cottonbud. Thumbs up dear.

Thank you @loladelolz.. ^_^ hehe

Your first coffee painting is not bad. It is very good!!! Especially for a first time. And the idea of combining it with the colored pencils are awesome! It added more color to it. And I got inspired with your friend in college. Good thing she still pursued her dreams. It is just so sad to think though that, people who have nothing will really work hard to be able to go to school and fulfill their dreams and those who are rich, those who have a lot of money and can afford to go to school, they aren't even taking it seriously. Haay! Buhay nga naman..

absolutely @creyestxsa94, that's why most people failed to live out their passion and life coz they think they just got everything they need, yet there are these people who are striving hard to attain what they have.

Very impressive artwork. Thanks for sharing this @geeyang15
Joy

Thank you for appreciating @sweetjoy.. :)

My dear this is awesome...... When I saw this painting I immediately fell in love with it......it made me very emotional.
This is beautiful. You are highly talented.
Waooooooooo

Thanks a lot @cyprianj.. :) It's nice to know that you felt the same way as i do the time i finished this. Even i, can't believe that i have done this portrait. Every time i look at this, it still brings me goosebumps and heart melting sense. Also made me some kind of emotional. I'm grateful.. :)

That's awesome! thanks for sharing

Its my pleasure @angcoins.. :)

Kumusta geeyang! :) yes.. thats one truly good song! and u did a truly great painting, too!

im following u and upvoted now.

Hi @chinito.. :) super okay po ako.. hehe.. Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate ng gawa ko.. hehe.. Followed you back.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62