My Experience Attending the Steem Summit | Milestone Unlocked

in #steemsummit6 years ago (edited)

During the last week of January of this year, @jassennessaj and @mikekenlytungal told me to attend the meetup of Cebuano Steemit Bloggers which is on its 7th week. At first I told the two of them that I will attend but it was very unfortunate since during that whole week I was grinding that much in doing contributions in Utopian, to be specific in the category of Translations and I keep doing that until midnight or 1 in the morning or 3 in the morning might be the last if I wouldn’t observed the time. So last 4th of February I missed the 7th meetup of Cebu Steemians eventhough I sleep early but I did a mistake on that day since I woke up early around 6 in the morning and continued doing translations and in the middle of doing translations I fell asleep and was able to woke up around 1 in the afternoon and I regretted it and told both @mikekenlytungal and @jassennessaj sorry for not being to attend. And I told myself on the next meetups I would attend and thankfully @jassennessaj never lose hope in me and he invited me to a basketball meetup and I consider it as an opportunity to mingle with fellow Steemians and I attended eventhough I doubt myself and think that I will be a laughing stock during those meetups. And it felt good up to this day since I get to mingle with fellow Steemians but the thing is that I am familiar with their faces since they are from my alma mater in college (University of Cebu Lapu-Lapu and Mandaue) for which most of them are engineering students and engineers by profession and only a handful are non-engineers/engineering students and professionals. And there is a desire within me to mingle with other Steemians in Cebu, I have to admit I am having struggles mingling with other people that I have no connection, which I experienced during my tenure as a President of the Junior Philippine Society of Mechanical Engineers - UCLM Chapter (JPSME - UCLM) during 2013 which enabled me in becoming the Board of Director of the Junior Philippine Society of Mechanical Engineers - Cebu Chapter (JPSME - Cebu) although it is the task of the Vice President External from our school at that time, I handled it since most of my officers are all working scholars. At first it was a struggle then I overcome it as time passes by especially in the second semester of 2013 up to 2014 (wherein I stepped down as president and assumed the position of Vice President External). Though I am still an officer in 2015, I choose to be low key at that time since I am focusing on as a co-team captain of our quizbowl team for the mechanical engineering department of our school and our thesis. So moving back to mingling with fellow Cebuano Steemians, when I heard the news about Steem Summit, in my mind this is my opportunity to meet new people of the same goals in Steemit, so the first thing that I did is to submit in the travel post contest but I was a early posting my travel blog and wasn’t able to add steemsummit as tag and I posted it in Busy but that’s alright. And then I registered my name in the official page of @steemsummit.

So when the day of Steem Summit arrived, I shaved my mustache, goatee and beard to be looking good since I am a rugged guy but the thing is I didn’t have my hair being cut. I was a bit shy at first when I arrived at the venue and stayed outside the entrance and I was so happy that @jassennessaj and @themanualbot together with his girlfriend Erika (a batchmate of mine in college) arrived and we have chitchats outside the venue. So around 1 in the afternoon (1300 GMT +8) the event started with a prayer and an opening message from @themanualbot to which he read aloud the message from @donkeypong. And then the guest speakers from @kryptonia (Michael Senn and Nathan Senn) as discussed what is a blockchain and introduced their cryptocurrency Superior Coin. We are grateful to them for sponsoring the event and giving away lots of souvenirs. Nevertheless, they explained also how their cryptocurrency works and how to mine the Superior Coin.

After they are done introducing their cryptocurrency, an intermission by the Steemit Beatboxers Community followed next with the leadership of @jaderpogi and I have uploaded two videos in Dtube about their performances (@jackobeat’s performance and the group’s performance). And then followed by a speech from a representative (pictured below)from @steemph.negros.

1BE167DE-6991-4916-BD31-D1C95391B6B1.jpeg

And then followed by @jassennessaj who happens to be one of the core leaders of @steemph.cebu community which is part of @sndbox’s sndcastles. He introduced the roles, goals and the roots of the @steemph.cebu and also his journey in Steemit platform.
31CC362B-0FF7-4C98-B656-64677A0C6CD9.jpeg

@jassennessaj delivers his prepared presentation to all Cebu Steemians.

After @jassennessaj was @morken who previously lead the open discussion in our Teenvestors Discord Channel. @morken was a great speaker. He is on point, his thoughts are catchy which made the audience in awe. Well, he has a future and a potential to be a member of Toastmasters here in Cebu. I am looking forward to the implementation of his proposed plans for the Cebuano Steemians which are very promising and engaging.

5477E0AD-81C0-499E-9B23-187307AF9B32.jpeg

@morken is being introduced by @thegaillery.

After @morken’s speech, @ybanezkim26 and his team who lead in organizing the Steem Summit proceeded to the recognition of the winners for the contests they had made before the event had arrived. One of which is the photography contests wherein the entries are spectacular and very professional!

D727D9D7-80C4-4F3C-B924-BCEDAD0DAB28.jpeg

This is the time when @ybanezkim26 is about to start acknowledging the sponsors and the winners of each contests.

All throughout the event I was able to talk to lots of Cebu Steemians most of them are the ones I’ve had a conversation in our Discord channel. I am looking forward to our upcoming activities such as meetups, discussions and etc,. First time is always hard and I always struggle on it. All throughout the event I stayed at the back which is no problem to me as I am far sighted. And for those I didn’t have conversation in Discord or in Facebook, especially Utopian contributors like @gentlemanoi and @jason04 and his friends, I got a chance to talk with them. And then, I had a small conversation with @carlitojoshua and @indayclara for which when she called me by my nickname “Ace” I was shocked in split seconds, which I always do when someone I didn’t know knows me. And I got to talk and had some jokes with @smaeunabs the businesswoman and then I got to talk with one of the coreleaders of @steemph.cebu community @fernwehninja. And we took photos as a group both near the screen projector and at the booth. After that I went home together with @morken and @chuuckie (for which I discussed what happened next in my earlier post).

E90A96AA-1EAE-419D-9364-7A21A28249DB.jpeg

Groufie of all Cebu Steemians.

09D5331F-4666-4ADF-86B8-D71CD228D1D2.jpeg

Groufie near the booth.

And then a chain of events happened wherein I came back to the venue since @surpassinggoogle came to the venue to surprise Cebu Steemians, thankfully my home is near to the venue. He made some statements regarding the Steem blockchain as a whole and we were like in classroom wherein he is seated in the middle and us surrounding him (of course, during my student years, I am a late comer, which happen also last Sunday wherein I surprisingly arrived also. LOL) To cut the story short most of us who were left in the venue had an opportunity to have a picture with Sir Terry. And after that, we had a dinner which I had shared in my earlier post too.

3D3149CB-4437-4595-B1B4-26F22BB64892.jpeg

Another picture of me and @surpassinggoogle. Credits to @indayclara for taking this picture and sending this picture thru DM.

Before I end this blog post I would like to give thanks to the sponsors of the event which are as follows:
-@kryptonia
-@donkeypong
-@maefe30
-@surpassinggoogle

Much love and respect.

Ace | @josephace135

Sort:  

hahahahhaha wala paka nibayad sa stick-o, mudawat rakog sbd :D

Wala man ko ningkaon og stick-o @smaeunabs BLEEEEEEEH di guro to ako oy. Empanada ug puto balanghoy ra ako nakaon ato man.

hahahahah ikaw lage tong gahurot sa empanada lage!

ngeee wala baya bleeeeh. pero mga 3 ako nakaon. kahibaw man ko walay bayad, dili ko ka afford sa stick-o gud. 3 ray nakaya sad kay nagsakit na akong tiyan galisud kog ginhawa mao tong sige kog gawas ahaka bitaw.

@josephace135 You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by josephace135 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by josephace135 (AFK) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62