Steem Torch Going StrongsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemtorch5 years ago (edited)

Sometime at the start of the Steem Torch chain, I heard about it and thought: "Great Experiment!" followed by: "How quick and how far will it go around our community?"

Then I was drawn into all sort of things outside Steemit and forgot all about it. Until this weekend! @leaky20 - someone who I met a few months ago and regularly meet on Steemit - contacted me with the message: "I like to pass the Steem Torch to you! Are you up for it?"

"WOW, what an honour!" This time I spoke out loud! :)

At shackle 128 we are still in the early stage of building the chain; Aiming at more than 1.300 shackles. To be exact: The aim is to get to 1.337 shackles. I have no idea why this number. I hoped it to be a prime number, or even better, a Mersenne prime number, but a quick calculation showed it is not.


image from the Vertical Single Torch Flame on Black Background video (source)
© Andrew282

Now I had a big question to answer: Whom to pass on the torch?

Quickly I found the answer: @mammasitta. Ofcourse! She was the first Steemian I met. It was during Amsterdam Dance Event when the first ever SteemFest was held in Amsterdam. That time I never ever heard of Steemit, and never ever heard of a social network build on a Bitcoin-like currency. I was not convinced immediately, and it took me another two to three months to get myself registered and another month or so to publish my first post. Ever since I'm an active member, almost every single day.

Unfortunately, @mammasitta - the super connector in our community - already carried SteemTorch, so I needed to find someone else.

Who else than the charming Italian couple the Beneforti's who I met on Steemit in my early days and who celebrated Kingsday (my countries biggest national celebration and party day where Orange is the key colour) with me through Steemit...


© @paolobeneforti and @silviabeneforti

Since I could only pass the torch to one of the Beneforti's, I had to flip a coin with the winner being @paolobeneforti. Fortunately, Paolo kinda undone the coin flipping result by passing the SteemTorch to Silvia today. Super Cool, I think! :)

Let the Steem Torch continue to Burn

You can read all about Steem Torch Experiment here

Music Library with more than 300 Entries

blockchain curator for @illuminati-inc and @qsounds

Sort:  

I remember the day we took that photo in orange :D We are happy you chose Paolo for the Steem Torch, so we both experienced this interesting social experiment. I have a couple of users in my mind to pass the torch, now I have to know if they were already carrying SteemTorch ;)

I'm glad you liked it, and the photo I still find super nice; I'll never forget it for sure :) Enjoy selecting the next Steemian to carry the torch.

Awesome! I'm glad you found a good candidate :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent review @edje and I totally agree with you, the Steem torch should be on all the time!

Congratulations @edje! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 800 posts. Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97