Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church Stations of the Cross

in #steemusa6 years ago

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church Stations of the Cross

I attended the first Holy Communion for two of our Grandchildren recently, and I had my camera with me and got a few shots.

I guess it should be no surprise I had my camera with me I generally always do LOL

This is another post of shots in the church

our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (1 of 6).jpg


Sony A7iii 52mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 10000
Click here to view larger



For this post I will share some shots of the Stations of the Cross, something that I have seen in every Catholic Church I have been in.

I am still amazed with my New camera that I can take a shot at 10,000 ISO and it is still usable

our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (2 of 6).jpg


Sony A7iii 32mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 8000
Click here to view larger



These ones however were so ornate and detailed I had to get some shots to share

our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (3 of 6).jpg


Sony A7iii 38mm F6.3 1/60 ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



The Stations of the Cross are a series of Images or carvings in this case I think depicting Jesus Christ on the day of his Crucifixion.
our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (4 of 6).jpg


Sony A7iii 40mm F4 1/60 ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



I am not familiar with the other churches but i read that they can also be found i Anglican, Lutheran and Methodist Churches

our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (5 of 6).jpg



Sony A7iii 40mm F4.5 1/60 ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



Each Station of the cross has a prayer that can be said with it, and I seem to remember that at times there is a prayer service that follows each station of this cross with its respective prayer.

our lady of mount carmel Stations of the cross (6 of 6).jpg

There are 14 Stations of the Cross in total but I only got shots of 6 of them

**

You can see in some of these shots at the sides the stained glass windows I will share some shots of those in a future post


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.619600 lat -70.928005 long Our Lady of Carmel Church New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

Looks gorgeous, I do wonder how the overall structure of the church is like, normally those old churches have some really awesome architecture.

@alvinauh I did a few posts of the details in the church but as of yet I haven't got any shots of it externally, I will try to find the time to get some shots of it when I next visit there

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=our-lady-of-mount-carmel-church-stations-of-the-cross


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

These are absolutely heavenly, Jj! No pun intended!

The stations of the cross were so sacred to me growing up, to this day, I will genuflect at the feet of Jesus, as He is depicted on these. You have captured such detail on them and honestly, they are so beautiful. I wish I could see them in person.

Wonderful job, great post!

Congratulations to your grandchildren. XO

They are truly amazing, I remember doing the Stations of the cross prayers when I was younger, I always found it so profound

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Very nice Jay, @tattoodjay.
100% upvote and
Resteem
JES

@jerrytsuseer Thanks your always so kind

Have a great week

You got the main points of the stations of the cross Jay.
I remember being horrified when I saw them as a young child.

Pretty violent stuff to hang on a wall in a place of worship. I always thought.

10,000 iso that's friggen amazing!

@molometer Ohh yeah I am amazed what the new Camera can do I love it, yeah the stations can be very intense especially when one is young

Very nice photos - those are amazing sculptures, I like how they're framed by the architecture.

@jackdub Thanks all the detail in this church was so ornate and beautiful

Great photography of some great art. There is so much passion in each of those works! You captured the mood of the works very well with the toning you used!

Thanks such a compliment coming from someone like you 😎👍😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93