The Blue Heron and I...

in #steemusawrite6 years ago

The Blue Heron and I



Hunt and peck, hunt and peck.
The Blue heron is just like me,
Except, I am searching for keys.

Long legged is something we also share,
Except, my legs are rarely bare.

Her eyes are surely better than mine,
But who am I to whine?

Hunt and peck, hunt and peck,
Oh what the heck.

This will never win,
But if I never try I’ll never win
And that would be a real sin.

By @sultnpapper

Photo Credits : Blue Heron photo is property of the famous @topkpop
Texas Flag Photo : Belongs to the not so famous, @sultnpapper

Sort:  

tienes mi voto

This made me smile, @sultnpapper. I like the poem and the photos! I happen to like blue herons.

I am glad you liked it, I just threw that together quickly just so I could support the contest. It isn't anything special by any means but I try and participate since I am a member of the group. The Heron photo was the writing prompt, and it could be anything so a quick poem was easier than a full blown story. The flag photo while it doesn't have to do with the poem, it is there to show what state I am from, and it is mine. Any post I do that isn't a daily dose will fly that photo in it.

Good to know! That is a good idea so you can separate the types of posts...nice idea to separate them. I may have to borrow your idea and start doing that...

Normally the flag would show in place of the salt & pepper packets in the thumb nail view but when I was putting that poem post together it just wasn't going to look correct with out the bird being the first thing a person would see.
But I do use separate pictures so my followers will know that if they don't bother to look at the flag posts they won't have missed anything with regard to the Daily Dose. A lot of people tell me that they look for the salt n pepper packets photo in there feed and don't even look at the title.
Feel free to use anything you like that you see of mine in the way of ideas if you think it will help you.

Thanks, @sultnpapper. I just like the idea of having a way to separate my posts out a bit better. Trying to uncomplicate my life...(like that is ever going to happen!)

Fantastic job! What a great way to use the prompt. Don't sell yourself short, the picture of the flag is great :) Loved this. Thanks for joining the challenge this week.

My pleasure to join in, I haven't participated much and I need to keep an eye on that. Glad you liked it. Need to fly the state flag so people know where I am coming from, it is a Texas thang.

Around here we have the blue crane, much the same in size and general appearance, but more a dry land creature...national bird nogal. Now it's unlikely you know that last word as it is a local word we inherited from goodness knows where, but I trust you can guess more or less. If you have any difficulty, it's a nice topic to discus around a fire one night, should you and the family happen to wander this way sometime. It is such a handy little word, maybe you will be tempted to make it part of your vocabulary once you get your head around it!

By the way, our little republic here at the southernmost end of Africa has very much the same kind of climate as the Lone Star State where you live. Less hurricane trouble though. More political storms entertaining us.

Have a nice day over there!

Are those nogals good eating over there? We have some birds here in Texas that are really good.

Haven't heard of anyone trying Blue Crane. They are a protected species anyhow. Guinea fowl and partridges are hunted for the table though. Ostriches, originally wild indigenous birds here are farmed large scale for everything from the feathers to the leather, the eggs and of course the lean meat. Someone smuggled live eggs out your way, so you should be able to buy ostrich products locally over there in Lone Star country, should you want to give it a try! Best in a well flavored pot compensating for the leanness of the meat I dare say.

I have a pair of smooth skin ostrich leather boots, very comfortable and very nice looking. I don't much care for the full quill ostrich leather with the bumps, those boots look like they have a case of the chicken pox.
I remember about thirty years ago or so that ostrich and emu farms were popping up around here left and right and those birds had some high price tags on them.
The meat didn't go over very well here mainly because of the price and it got where the people farming them in a lot of cases just turned their birds loose in the end.
I know of a couple places over by San Antonio where there are still a few ostrich being raised but I don't know if they are selling the birds or just raising them as a novelty.
I haven't seen any ostrich or emu meat for sale in a meat market in probably 25 years here, it didn't last long in that respect for sure but I also haven't searched for a place to buy it either.

The very lean meat is not exactly inspiring. Relatively inexpensive around here and can help stretching the pot at times...

I think the economic advantage, here at least, lies in that these birds can be farmed on relatively sparse and dry and therefore relatively cheap land and what isn't useful for humans can be turned into pet food. And except for some bird flu viruses that can run amok on densely populated farms, once they are over a few months old they are quite hardy animals.

The better cuts find their way into exotic dishes in the tourism market, along with things like crocodile meat!

Thanks for that info.

Forgot to mention: the meaning of the word "nogal" (pronounced with a somewhat raspy guttural 'r' where the g is) is closer to something between 'indeed' and 'you know' and although it might digest quite well, I don't think can be considered to be edible!

We have some words like that also that aren't pronounced anything like they are spelled. One that comes to mind is a main road in our area. Kuykendahl, it is pronounced "Kirk an dull" .

"Kuykendahl" has a Dutch flavour, by the looks of it, originally meaning something like 'Chick Valley'. Am I right?

Don't get me to lying, but it is the name of a road that was named after a local family in the area who settled here, most of the families were German. I can't swear that they were but my guess is that they were.

A nice poem and if we all keep pecking away at our keyboards one day we may all win.

Well I can guarantee if we don't we sure won't. Thanks, glad you liked it.

That is cute!! But show your bare legs to the sun - they might like it 😄

Thanks, I do when I work outside around the house but that is about it. I have a farmer tanned body for sure head, face, neck and hands.

haha! hey sultnpapper I think that was pretty darn good for something just thrown together for the contest! ha! maybe you should do more of that?

I don't think so, I am not a poet and I damn sure know it.

Sweet little poem! Nicely done, no doubt! 😊

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99