You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculating Social Profits

in #steemvalue6 years ago

something Ive been thinking recently is that even though its really nice that people support each other with automatic voting, it sort of blunts the edge of the community interaction because people don't get round to reading the posts and then don't comment, and you start to wonder, well WHY should I make $5 off of a post when no-one has read it? It means that the media is VERY disposable, sometimes even irrelevant. I am not a fan of discord because I find it overloads my brain and stresses me out, but I can see that a significant level of GENUINE community activity happens there, and if those conversations were 'upvotable' and monetized then perhaps there wouldn't be so much need for people to constantly spit out unnecessary posts just to recieve upvotes from bots and people who aren't even reading the material. This might then focus the commnunity on GENUINE LIVE interaction where we all know the real revolutions happen, like in the taverns of olde :)

Sort:  

I suspect, and I could be wrong that because we are basically dealing today with a bucket of unorganized legos, many of the things we default to are simply the best we can currently build, and not the system at its true potential.

On the whole discord part, I could not agree more, and this is why I push towards that and run the initiatives we do in order to help people interact socially. You may have not participated of the discord in a while, but if you would see what we've been up to I think your mind would gain some perspective on the matter.

Inside this blockchain however, I happen to believe this sort of hard to describe distance between a reader and a blog, leaves most uncomfortable with approaching the creator. Meaning, that he/she is perceived as an archetype author and not as a regular human being behind a keyboard.

Now, do I think manual curation is stupid, or ineffective, not by a long shot, but in the scale of a small account it can never be profitable. Meaning, that unless you are able to interact and curate at a hyperhuman rate.

I would really love to have you participate of one of our conversations one of these mondays, I think you would enjoy it.

I would like to. What time do you do it?

10pm Monday night for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55