SteemWhale.io By @roelandp: The Probably Most Hilarious Steem Gimmick Ever Invented!

in #steemwhale6 years ago (edited)

This is the most ridiculously funny blockchain use-case I have ever seen. - Neer Varshney via thenextweb.com

Who said that blockchain technology has to be serious all the time?

A couple of days ago @roelandp - top 5 witness and organizer of the legendary @steemfest - posted a picture of a whale in a Dutch harbour to the SMT Telegram chat. He added:

Currently hooking on this thing on Steem chain. No kidding.

Honestly, I had no idea what he was talking about. Just thought it must have been some Dutch humor...

Now I finally know what he was talking about! In fact it was no joke to onboard that mammal to our steemy chain.

We can now use our Steem tokens to make a whale squirt on command that is located in the Netherlands from whatever place in the world.

You have still no idea what I'm talking about?

qdorn52r9i.jpg
Whales - admirable creatures, both in real life and on the blockchain

Sometimes the most ridiculous ideas have the greatest impact

I'm not sure when I laughed to tears in front of my computer for the last time.

Today I did.

@roelandp sent me a link to a website called SteemWhale.io, and what I found there was absolutely hilarious!

You can go to the website, make a small donation of Steem to the account @whalefountain and then watch the whale spray water live via webcam.

It may all sound too weird, so I recommend to watch Roeland's video explanation:

What a funny way of demonstrating the Steem blockchain's efficiency!

Every 3 seconds a new block is being produced on the Steem blockchain, and if there wasn't a 20-seconds-delay in the livestreaming you'd be able to watch your fountain after exactly that time.

I really love these type of gimmicks since they're able to create a lot of attention around Steem.

TNW - thenextweb.com - has already picked up the funny whale fountain and launched an article about it: You can now make a fake Dutch whale squirt over blockchain!

Picture or it didn't happen! Here you go:

u27x98v17l.png

Go make it spray! 🐋

Much love,
Marly -
Steem Ambassador
.
.
.

PS: 50% of my daily Voting Power is used for manual curation in the category #promo-steem.

h8k8q6qssd.png
This blog was created in July 2016, aiming to provide thought-provoking content for open-minded people who go on adventure, step out of comfort zones and embrace the new.
Thanks for being part of the journey!

u63vqd930f.png

PS: This blog post was edited and submitted via eSteem Surfer 1.0.6 - my favorite Steem desktop client that was developed by the @esteemapp team. Give it a try following the instructions in this post and reading the update for the latest release here.

Original content.

Sort:  

thanks marly :) i've also introduced it myself now :)

https://steemit.com/@roelandp

Also. anyone, please help get the word out by sharing some upvote love on https://www.producthunt.com/posts/steemwhale-io :)

Awesome! You'll get even more attention by yourself then :-)
It's a really cool project!

WHALES WHALES WHALES SMH I WANNA BE A WHALE

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

P.S.
Co0l Whale of @roelandp! 😎🤙

Oh wow, how cool's that!!! Thanks a lot for your appreciation! :-)

You know Marly, these little gimmicks do wonders... this is great...

In fact they do @meno, and I definitely believe we need more of them!
Great way of living and promoting the blockchain's miracles :-)

I’m gonna go watch this whale 🐳 right now! 🐋
To the site I go

That is the best 1 Steem I've spent to date!

LOL - mine, too!

Haha same here, the people around it got very excited. Though it looks like I was double charged >.>

Thanks lol when you said

make a whale squirt on command

I almost died.

:D

Hahaha, go check the site and you'll break into laughter again :-D

You're right, I did. :D Thanks for sharing lol I'll pass this along to a bunch of friends on Discord. Too expensive for me :| but I'm sure some of them will be interested.

I can't stop watching lol Thanks to @grumpycat I have seen it squirt twice already though lol WORTH IT :D

Really amazing comparison Marly.
Both types of whales are unique and powerful

That rainbow comes when it squirts! Seems surreal @surfermarly. :-D Such a fun way to add more engagement on the blockchain! I will also make a blog post about it tomorrow. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69