You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld Update / New Tool Available / Abuse Finder

in #steemworld4 years ago

Hi @steemchiller

Excellent tool.

I was wondering if STINC have some idea on how to fight with regular reward pool abusers. Like haejin.

I think it would be wise to build some blacklist and ensure that users who would end up on this blacklist wouldn't be able to upvote (their upvote wouldn't provide any rewards and it's value would be zero).

Sort:  

The problem I see with a blacklist is that it comes with much maintenance work. Of course, we would have the same question as with my 'community account for downvoting' idea to ask ourselves: Who should be maintaining the list?

Downvotes can help immediately, but they don't care about future posts. If someone would end up on such a blacklist, he would have nearly no chance of improving his voting style in future anymore. I also think that in case of implementing your idea it should not only set the blacklisted account's vote to zero but all votes it receives.

A similar and much easier to implement idea would be some kind of maximum payout amount per week for all accounts.

Sorry for such a late reply @steemchiller

The problem I see with a blacklist is that it comes with much maintenance work

My impression is, that it's easier to maintain blacklist than to seek and downvote abusers on daily basis.

I've few good friends, who are right now "milking steem" like crazy. And when I asked them if they aren't worried to be downvoted - I received interesting answer: flaggers will get bored sooner or later.

That's the problem. Those who abuse system, they go "quiet" for several days after been downvoted and then they are coming back. Perhaps unnoticed. Or they simply carry on, knowing that they will win at the end of the day.
@ haejin is great example.

The other problem is that you need 10times more downvoting power (1 free downvote daily) to balance voting power. Meaning: if someone has 100k SP and is self-upvoting 10 of his spam-posts, then you need 10 people with 100k SP to downvote it to zero. That's a battle which cannot be won.

A similar and much easier to implement idea would be some kind of maximum payout amount per week for all accounts.

Interesting idea. Worth considering.

Yours, Piotr

I've few good friends, who are right now "milking steem" like crazy. And when I asked them if they aren't worried to be downvoted - I received interesting answer: flaggers will get bored sooner or later.

Thanks for the info.

The other problem is that you need 10times more downvoting power (1 free downvote daily) to balance voting power.

Our Max Downvote Mana is 25% of the Max Upvote Mana, means we have 2.5 free downvotes per day.

Hi @steemchiller

Is there any way to DM you? Can I find you on discord?

Perhaps you could join project.hope server and DM me there: https://discord.gg/BMeDtv

Yours, Piotr

Currently the best way is to just send me an encrypted memo on Steem. I will soon provide a decentralized chat solution with end-to-end encryption, but until it's ready to be used you can directly message me here ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66912.93
ETH 3115.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78