You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #23

in #steemworld5 years ago

Hey, I just tried to use SteemWorld to claim an account. It wouldn't seem to work for some reason using Keychain on Firefox. It was just forever saying that it was writing it to the blockchain, yet nothing ever showed on the chain.

So I ended up claiming an account with Steem Connect, then trying to create the account name via SteemWorld. Had the same problem with keychain on that step.

Tried Steem Connect then, and it just said "error" every time I tried.

Eventually had to disable it too and use just SteemWorld directly.

Not sure if it was just my bad luck, but thought I'd let you know in case there's some kind of bug with how the accounts are claimed.

Sort:  

Both SteemConnect and KeyChain seem not to work for creating claimed accounts with the new Steem API methods that I'm using. I had hoped it will resolve itself, but that's still not the case, so I will remove the possibility to use SC and KC for account creation. Using SteemWorld directly will always work.

I come to the same conclusion as many times before in my career: Implementing external solutions will in most cases set you back and hit the quality of your own product at some point in future... Lesson learned.

btw, even though I was able to claim 2 account tickets with my valid active key. It barks at me saying I don't have authority when I try and create the accounts with my active key...And I certainly have enough credits and it is my valid active key....

Well...they could fix it eventually...but you can't really rely on others all the time. Keychain also seems to work pretty crappy with SteemPeak and a few other projects. I'm sure eventually they'll get all the bugs ironed out. Well...most of them...

I can sympathize, We all have these travails...
I have the problem with amazon MWS all the time vs. eBay and NewEggs APIs....
They don't document at all, have no centralized organized place for there published revision history and don't inform anyone in advance about up coming changes that will break your software.

I find that people designing and programming in the B.S. Agile environments like Scrum make the worst design and technical support documents, plus alot of spaghetti bloatware.

That's the major disadvantage of decentralized open source projects for the most part.
There is a lack of a uniform vision that guides the product path, and internal and external documentation is a complete afterthought. That's why it's a mess an tough to figure out most of the time. Even for a guy like me who has written case tools, compilers, worked for hundreds of companies and knows at least 100 languages and, frameworks.

Committees are great for codifying standards after a shake out.
But during design and development the old saying "to many cooks spoil the broth comes into play".

Just my sense for someone who's been in the field since 1980. Yea this old dog has some bite...

on another been working on a group app for my team....
calling it the SteemConsole here's a screen shot (pre-alpha)....about to add a second status button that opens another tab that brings up your site for the user.


LMK if you'd like to get an Alpha Copy...
IntroducingRichAtVNSwithsign.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67352.29
ETH 3501.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22