You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld blocked by some ISPs? TOR works. Locally running SteemWorld Version now available.

in #steemworld5 years ago

I've been using TOR since yesterday; up until the update this week, Steemworld worked fine. I haven't noticed any change in functionality when using TOR, but starting a computer from an incorruptible DVD is a bit of a hassle.

As always, thanks for a great site and keeping us informed. Cheers!

Sort:  

If you are only using Tor for accessing steemworld, then why not run it as a 2nd browser by installing it on your hard drive? Are you really worried about someone seeing your steemit account details? Anyone can do that anyway

Hi Arthur, no I'm not worried about anyone seeing my I'net activities, you wouldn't be reading any comments from me if I was that paranoid. After Steemworld had it's update, it came back for about 20 minutes and then shut down permanently. I asked a few others if that was the same for them, and when they answered they were not having any issues, it dawned on me that my IP might be blocked. To test that theory I made a TAILS DVD and was able to access Steemworld as per normal.

Since I don't really have a need for TAILS or TOR at this time, rather than installing TOR or TAILS, I'm using Steemworld's html file instead. This has worked fine so far.

(When needed, I run TAILS/TOR from a DVD because the DVD can not be corrupted once burned, it's like having a fresh install every time you start up. Doing it that way is very secure, but since much of the OS has to run from RAM, it takes a lot longer to boot up, so it's not really convenient. I use TAILS as a live OS when checking out old computers, running it usually tells me right away if I'm dealing with hardware or Windows issues)

tells me right away if I'm dealing with hardware or Windows issues

I've used tails etc, but never knew it could be used for identifying problems.

How about a post teaching others also?

I have in the past written posts on how to run machines without so much as a hard drive, but found very little interest.

Maybe next time I rework an old machine, I'll document the entire process.

I wish there were a bulletin board, where, under various categories of interest, we could learn about posts of interest. Looking at the feed is not effective, there are too many posts per day for anyone to discover more than one gem now and then.

Thanks.

I agree, but with the current set up I'm not sure how to fix that. There is a diytube channel here on Steemit, but it faces the same issue: who knows it exists, and can it find the content it wants to bring to the forefront?

I had hoped Steemit would address this with the community and point out the limitations we'd face in correcting this issue, and make this a more effective publishing platform. I guess we wait.. Have a good one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87