You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #14

in #steemworld5 years ago

As always, thanks for the great update @steemchiller!

" Something like @yabapmatt's Keychain would be a way better solution"

According to @yabamatt’s post:

”Finally, the Steem Keychain Chrome browser extension was born!”

I’ve looked into this before and have always been “locked up” at this point. I do not claim to be a developer, but I really do everything I can to stay away from Google. Not easy to do, but I make every reasonable effort …

Would they ever consider putting in the effort to have an extension to the Brave browser? If think that idea might have some merit, at least enough to discuss it and if you have any sway with the principals on this Keychain project @steemchiller, you may wish to suggest it.

The only other input from me this month is selecting a value other than 5 in the number of posts dropdown box does not hold. When I come back, it has always reset to 5. Not a big deal to me, but thought I would bring it to your attention, in case you are ever bored with nothing to do … 😉

All the best to you, even in this dreary market, until next time!

Sort:  

I’ve looked into this before and have always been “locked up” at this point. I do not claim to be a developer, but I really do everything I can to stay away from Google.

I know exactly what you mean and the same goes for me. I deleted my FB and G accounts lately, rooted my android device and disabled all G services. The app store can then no longer be used, but there are already alternatives available. I don't use many apps anyway and those I use are open source and the APKs can be downloaded directly.

Brave and G Chrome both are built on top of the Chromium web browser and therefore support the WebExtensions API as Firefox and Opera do. I'm not sure if the process of registering these addons without having a G account is possible, but I can tell you more in a few days ;)

All the best @roleerob and thanks for your bug report regarding the posts limit!

Excellent feedback @steemchiller ...

"Brave and G Chrome both are built on top of the Chromium web browser and therefore support the WebExtensions API as Firefox and Opera do."

... as I did not know this. Now I know why you "get paid the big bucks" ... 😉

Seriously, I am heartened to hear we are like-minded on this critical topic in our time. While it may be "resistance is futile," I am not willing to go along with it, without doing what I can ...

Conceptually, at least, this topic is a very important (to me) reason why I decided to "jump in" to the "cryptosphere" in general and the "Steemisphere" in particular, as I had not been online, prior to May 14th ...

Until next time, keep "fighting the good fight" @steemchiller! 💥👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67