SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

in #steemworld6 years ago (edited)

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future. After some tests it became clear to me that I can not realize everything with the current server (1) what I actually planned. The database for the vote statistics alone is now more than 28 GB in size and it is growing day by day. Once one uses indices for such huge amounts of data (which I have to do to ensure good performance), the storage space required multiplies. So in the future I won't get along with the current server for data requests (90$/month) and probably need a much more expensive machine.

The second server, which currently only provides the page itself and some resources, runs on another hoster and will be sufficient for now. It was important to me to separate the services from each other so that SteemWorld will continue to function even if the data server is overloaded. Even though I now receive a lot of requests per second, everything is fortunately still doing really well with the current setup.

Of course I won't order a server I can't afford at the end or only if I am active on Steemit and the decisive people have voted me. The programming of new features and maintenance of the existing ones alone fills almost my entire week. It's really hard for me to lose another day after the work is done (with answering the comments probably two more days) for the presentation in the form of an English post. So now I'm trying to find a solution with these weekly posts.

I hope that I will soon find some time to start my own witness server in order to pay part of my bills with the block production rewards. I recently needed to make a powerdown because my fiat bank account ran out of money and I would not have been able to pay the rent for my apartment otherwise. It is really a bad feeling to loose STEEM (for which I have worked a lot the whole last year) in these times of low market prices.

I am going to mention important changes in these weekly posts, but most things are pretty self-explanatory anyway and usually don't need any further introduction. I'd rather create an extra post every 4-8 weeks with details about the new functions and explain everything a little better structured and in its final state. Most of the time I revise the described features in the following days/weeks and the description is no longer up to date, so I think this way makes more sense.

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen. Nach einigen Tests ist mir klar geworden, dass ich mit dem jetzigen Server (1) nicht alles realisieren kann, was ich eigentlich geplant habe. Allein die Datenbank für die Vote-Statistik ist mittlerweile mehr als 28 GB groß und sie wächst von Tag zu Tag. Sobald man Indizes für solche riesigen Datenmengen verwendet (was ich muss, um eine gute Performance gewährleisten zu können), vervielfacht sich der benötigte Speicherplatz. Ich werde also in Zukunft nicht mehr mit dem jetzigen Server für Datenanfragen (90$/Monat) auskommen und brauche wahrscheinlich eine deutlich teurere Maschine.

Der zweite Server, der aktuell nur die Seite selbst und einige Ressourcen bereitstellt, läuft bei einem anderen Hoster und wird erstmal ausreichen. Mir war es wichtig die Dienste voneinander zu trennen, damit SteemWorld auch bei Überlastung des Daten-Servers weiterhin funktioniert und keine Downtime entsteht. Auch wenn ich mittlerweile sehr viele Anfragen pro Sekunde erhalte, läuft der Laden ja erfreulicherweise noch richtig gut mit dem aktuellen Setup.

Natürlich werde ich keinen Server buchen, den ich mir am Ende nicht leisten kann oder nur, wenn ich auf Steemit aktiv bin und mich die entscheidenden Leute gevotet haben. Allein die Programmierung der neuen und Wartung der vorhandenen Funktionen füllt ja schon so gut wie meine gesamte Woche. Da fällt es mir echt schwer nach getaner Arbeit noch einen weiteren Tag (mit Beantwortung der Kommentare wahrscheinlich eher zwei) für die Präsentation in Form eines englischen Posts zu verlieren. Daher versuche ich jetzt mit diesen wöchentlichen Posts dafür eine Lösung zu finden.

Ich hoffe, dass ich bald Zeit finden werde, meinen eigenen Witness-Server zu starten, um einen Teil meiner Rechnungen mit den Blockproduktionsbelohnungen zu bezahlen. Kürzlich musste ich einen Powerdown machen, weil auf meinem Bankkonto kein Geld mehr vorhanden war und ich die Miete für meine Wohnung sonst nicht hätte bezahlen können. Es ist wirklich ein schlechtes Gefühl STEEM (für die ich das ganze letzte Jahr viel gearbeitet habe) in diesen Zeiten niedriger Marktpreise zu verlieren.

Wichtige Änderungen werde ich auch in diesen wöchentlichen Posts erwähnen, aber die meisten Dinge sind ja sowieso ziemlich selbsterklärend und benötigen meistens keine weitere Einführung. Ich werde lieber alle 4-8 Wochen mal einen extra Post mit Details zu den neuen Funktionen erstellen und kann damit alles etwas besser strukturiert und im endgültigen Zustand erläutern. Meistens überarbeite ich die beschriebenen Funktionen in den Folgetagen/-wochen noch und die Beschreibung ist dann schon nach kurzer Zeit nicht mehr aktuell, daher halte ich diesen Weg für sinnvoller.

New Features


Expiring SP Delegations

Thanks to @emrebeyler for the idea and information about the undocumented API call ;)


New Preview Currencies

In The Making


Post Finder

It will still take some time until this is ready to be used, but I'm doing my best to get this working in the coming weeks...


Same Posts Filtered By Tag 'deutsch'

Each custom filter has a filter type that defines which operators can be used for it. The filters 'Tags' and 'Authors' for example use a string array type so that multiple values can be separated by a comma. I'm thinking about adding a button for the array types that will enable us to set the values in kind of a list dialog for easier editing.


Default Image View


Zoomed Image View

When post preview images are too small and we want to see some details without opening the post, we can just move the mouse over the image and it will get zoomed:


Available Filters

The main filters in the upper area define the source feed of the posts (following, trending, hot, new) and some more general settings. The setting 'Content' can be used to only show posts with specific content (for example with or without video content).

In the section below the main settings we can add custom filters and enable/disable them easily via the check box in the left. All changes will automatically be stored in a cookie so that all filters will remain after closing the page. Of course they will also be stored in the settings file when exporting the user settings (Settings -> Save Settings).

A few more filters are planned and there will be something like a 'NOT Operator' for inverting the custom filters.

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. Don't listen to all the mainstream news and 'alternative' youtube channels that are making us smaller than we really are. Crypto was great and it always will be. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. We are the creators of our world.


Sort:  

I use your service daily and I love it! Of course I will support your weekly expense posts. Resteemed.

Sorry to hear that you had to power down a bit.

Thanks man! May the waves be with you ;)

so many here use your service! it saddens me deeply that only few of the big whales appreciate this. maybe a @berniesanders is ready to give some support. apart from @jesta or @ned, @blocktrades, @timcliff and many others... the list is long. good work, dear @steemchiller and i hope the best for you and that the whole platform finally recognizes what you do for us. that truly deserves to become trending. greetings

@steemchiller, eine ganz blöde Frage. Hast du ein Amazon-Partnerprogramm? Dort kannst du auch mehrere Partner-IDs erstellen und evtl. so eine Partner-ID hier posten. Ich kaufe ab und an bei Amazon ein und es wäre schade wenn die Partnerprovision verfällt. Die kalkuliert Amazon fest ein und zieht die von den Händlern ab. Alternativ kannst du mir deine Partner-ID auch per verschlüsselte Steemit-Nachricht schicken, falls du die nicht veröffentlichen möchtest.

Bei den momentanen Kryptopreisen wären irgendwelche FIAT-Einnahmen evtl. besser.

Ich selber hätte auch keine Probleme wenn du innerhalb der SteemWorld-Oberfläche 2-3 Partnerlinks unterbringen würdest. Zum Beispiel Amazon und Smartsteem.

I agree - a very valuable service you are providing. Thank you for doing so.

Sending a small token (literally 😎) of my appreciation and challenging others to do the same.

Screenshot_2018-07-04-10-11-45.png

Da mach ich doch gerne mit. Es kann ja nicht sein das der Entwickler des besten Steemittools für seine Lebenserhaltungskosten ein Powerdown machen muss.
20180704_162304.jpg

Steemianer the man needs our help. If everybody a little bit gives we can reach a lot.

Wie wir alle hier wissen, ist dein grandioses Tool für uns alle von größtem Wert, weil wir es täglich mehrfach benutzen und schätzen gelernt haben.
Es ist unverzichtbar, viele Tausende nutzen es!

Es geht gar nicht, dass du bald die Serverkosten und deine normale private Miete nicht mehr bezahlen kannst, weil du fulltime deine Arbeitszeit und deine Energie hier reinsteckst.

Wir, als community, dürfen dies einfach nicht zulassen. Bitte, bitte integriere einen "Donate" Button in deine Seite, wie ich schon mal vorgeschlagen habe. Ich denke, jeder wäre bereit dir nicht nur einen STEEM oder SBD zukommen zu lassen, sondern immer wieder, wenn ihm danach ist. Ich würde es auf jeden Fall so machen. Auch langfristig sehe ich kein Hindernis ein Bezahlmodell einzuführen. Bitte mach das! Du lieferst ein für alle wertvolles Tool, du hast damit eine Menge Arbeit, die nicht dementsprechend entlohnt wird. Lobende Worte und upvotes sind ok, aber davon kannst du letztendlich nicht leben. Und ich denke, du kannst auf jeden Fall mit diesem Tool Gewinn machen.

Ich gebe in meinem Beruf auch gern und oft unentgeltlich, aber irgendwann ist auch bei mir mit dem Altruismus Schluss.

Ich drück mal jetzt selbst den "virtuellen", noch nicht vorhandenen Donate-Button.
10 SBD hab ich in dein Wallet transferiert.

bildschirmdruck 2018-07-04 001.png

Es wäre schön, wenn andere es mir gleichtun würden.

komm mal zum @steem.camp, chillen & grillen :)

maxresdefault.jpg

I can't afford to loose steemworld after steemdata.
My heart is not strong enough. How about displaying some ads jokes aside
a weekly/monthly fee may help with the payments until you setup your node.

sorry to hear that you're running out of budget
I've been wanting to ask why you're not running a witness
you should, you should :)
I hope you get supported with your work
Steemworld is really such a huge help for all of us

and yes, you should post on a weekly basis I do think so :)
some annoying witnesses wannabes even post nonsense on a daily basis
so why not you when your post even gives value
they don't have to be long anyway

I can't imagine what my Steemit world would be without your Steemworld and am sure am not the only one who's become dependent on it
Thank you for creating it btw!
I hope you get support perhaps a delegation from @burnpost :)

Hallo.
Das mit dem wöchentlichen Berichten finde ich eine gute Idee aber ich glaube das das auch noch zusätzliche Zeit und Arbeit in Anspruch nimmt, welche du anderweitig nutzen könntest..
Ich schließe mich da @pawos an, bei so vielen finanzkräftigen Leuten welche deine Seite nutzen, solltest du eigentlich schon reich sein und dich um die Finanzierung deiner Server und deines Lebens keine Gedanken machen müssen.

Herzliche Grüße condeas

Zum Glück kann sowas aber auch automatisiert werden. Muss ja nicht immer so viel Text sein, meinen Vote würde er auch mit nur ner Überschrift bekommen! :)

Ich sehe das genauso. Bei so vielen Nutzern sollten doch im Monat wenigstens die Kosten des Servers gedeckt sein.

Auch ich möchte mich noch einmal herzlichst für die wunderbare Arbeit, die du in steemworld steckst, bedanken. Ich verwende das Tool fast täglich und wüsste nicht ob ich ohne das tool überhaupt noch auf Steemit aktiv wäre...
Als Dankeschön hab ich dir auch ein paar SBD geschickt und schließe mich der Meinung von @peter2017 an, dass ein Spendenbutton in der Steemworld sehr viel Sinn machen würde ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30