Steepshot Steemit Instagram Style App Thoughts and Review

in #steepshot6 years ago

I heard about the @steepshot project awhile back from John but only attempted to use it a few weeks ago. When I installed it from the Google App Play Store I found the app to be at that time not usable due to bugs. I’d click create an image and it’d crash every time. I was disappointed but it seemed like it was a young project with lots of room to grow.

Today John suggested I try again after reading some recent updates and I found it works now. It’s got it’s bugs and does crash more than Instagram but it seems at least bottom line usable and that’s pretty cool. Even John is now using it (and Steemit in general) under the name @dready-john-galt.

I’ve always appreciated the concept behind Instagram so naturally I was pretty excited for Steepshot once I heard about it. While I’m not sure what sort of effect this sort of thing will have on the Steemit ecosystem in the long term, it’s an interesting project. It might upset the balance for content creators and incentivise those putting a lot more into their work here on Steemit to do less.

What I will say about the app is despite the bugs it does have I do like using it, and I’ve got hope for it’s future. It’s simple but intuitive.

The current bugs I notice are that it crashes a lot and has a bit of a lag when it comes to displaying posts, things I imagine will start to be ironed out in the future. As it stands it’s currently just usable enough to be worth bothering with and is currently the only way I post from my phone. It’s a bit of a bummer that it takes a ten percent cut, but I understand that development isn’t free either.

So if you’re into the Instagram thing consider Steepshot but be patient with crashes and bugs as it’s a project in development just like dtube is. I personally will likely tag all my @steepshot posts with the tag #steepshot to differentiate them from other posts.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Silkie chicken cuddle during photo editing
How to Achieve the Perfect Ratio for Overnight Oats
Farm Update: we've got bunnies!

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

The Ultimate Gluten Free Brownies
Fun with Editing: Messing Around with Photo Editing RawTherapee on Linux with John
Farm Update: Favorite Silkie Chicken Pepper Dealing with Mites!

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

Do i give it a try dear?

Are you talking about Steepshot?

Congratulations @lily-da-vine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I hate to say it, but I have to close and refresh the app on IOS every single time I go to post, sometimes multiple times. I sometimes copy the text so I don't have to retype it when I go to try posting again. You can still see though I use it 2-4 times a day as it is still one of the faster ways to get photos posted and I like the fact that my images have the ability to show up on Steemit's popular page. I also like the fact you can use up to 20 tags.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97