STEM class with Sam

in #stem6 years ago

Our local library has a weekly summer STEM program that Sam and I started going to last week. It was his favorite subject in Kindergarten this last year. He liked to talk about it every Friday after school, so when Melissa found one at the library a mile from our house, heck yeah we signed up!

What is STEM?


Science
Technology
Engineering
Math

Pretty relevant stuff, and this six year old just eats it up. IMG_20180605_185904017.jpgMakes his old man pretty proud. This is the kind of stuff I loved as a kid too, and I'm still a kid lol

Last week, we got to use a 3D pen to draw and make things. I think I'm gonna get one and see if he has any interest in making things with it to sell. Maybe develop that entrepreneurial spirit in him.


Just asked and he say's he's down. we're gonna buy this one. It's inexpensive, has good reviews, and looks exactly like the one we used. Bet they all come from the same factory in china and are just rebranded.


So last week we were able to do that. This week we got to do the robot cell, which he always missed out on in school. I made sure to specifically sign us up for that cell.

IMG_20180605_192017384.jpg

I didn't get a whole lot of pictures for that part cause I was busy having fun playing too, The robots, called OzoBots, run on a line and use 3 colored codes on their path to read and execute commands. It was fun finding out the right way to do it.

There was a worm composting workshop too, and we got to make a small worm compost bin. Sam had fun doing it, and I think we'll start our own big worm composting system at the house. It was cool seeing the kids all learning and participating.

IMG_20180605_185452795.jpg

IMG_20180605_185318595.jpg

IMG_20180605_185209787.jpg

I also got a book about #unschooling. I've been curious after seeing @kafkanarchy86 posting about it so much. Being a homeschooled kid, I've been wondering if that would be the right route to go with my kiddos. I'm learning this summer while trying to do these kinds of things. We'll see. I gotta get the wife on board.

We had a good time. Next week: snap circuits!

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

It's a part of the educational system that makes sense. The building blocks of society. Some folks include Art in it to make STEAM, which is cool by me, as art is relevant af.

This kid is a STEM machine. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87