You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Problem of Communication from the Red Planet

in #stemng6 years ago

I've got a question for you @greenrun, do you know anything about the mars one mission that has been planned?
The reason I ask, is if the problem of getting communication from the red planet is a problem now what will it be like for these people who are planning on giving there lives up for a journey of a life time.

I know technology has gone a long way over the years and like you said in your post there is a lot fast ways to communicate but wouldn't it still take a long time to get the information on that voyage?
I know that they are giving up on their lives but wouldn't we need all the information they gather faster. I am guessing that they will plan on updating cameras and other technology when they are there right?

A lot of people in the past who I have talked to have said that it impossible to get to mars, but I am open minded. I would love to see a live stream from there, and maybe in my life time i will get the chance.

One large step for man one larger step for mankind.

:D

Sort:  

I think the Mars One concept should allow the rovers to get enough information before heading out there. Going there, if ( a big if) they can get funding and enough workforce and expertise to build a craft that can somehow ferry them there is a big uphill task.

Other rovers in the future will undoubtedly be an upgrade to Curiosity regarding both hardware and software.

Four days ago, scientists discovered an organic material on Mars. That may be evidence of life on the Red Planet and raises hope for a possible life there.

If they have found methane like in that article you have provided the link too, then that is big news, this supports evidence that life was on mars doesn't it?
I have been reading the mars one news and with it been a private investor and they are having to raise 6 billion doesn't that mean the chances of them going to be slim to none.
I know nasa are thinking of sending man to and from mars in 2035 which is great news but if this private company is wanting to do it, there will be more risks don't you think?
I mean nasa has been going for many years, the research that supports their programs of space travel speaks for it's self. wouldn't these 100 people out of the 200000 be better waiting until we know more about the planet.
When the rovers go to gather information what will they do while they are there. there is some many variables that even the slightest error could make a massive difference in landing and killing the whole crew.
Thanks for replying back, I like talking about this kind of stuff with people it's sometimes hard to find like minded people. :D

The plan to raise such a considerable amount of money by a private firm running a project with so many unknowns do not look so good, but let's wait and see how it pan out.

Your right about the unknowns, I wouldn't want to risk my life on a prediction, not for the sake of been one of the first to walk on the red planet anyway.
I think its a clever and stupid Idea all rolled into one. like you said lets just wait and see. £6 billion is a lot to find.

Yeah, in the next 20 years I think space tourism will be a thing similar to booking flight to an exotic destination.

I'd like to book a ticket if that was the case, I think it would be a once in a life time thing to pay for but I would love to go.

Yeah, I'm afraid the first decade of such tourism the expense will be a little bit on the expensive side.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92