You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the soldier's black boot shines and the blackest synthetic material on earth

in #stemng6 years ago

I read about that last year I think. I think that it could have a big impact on the fiber optic market. No loss of light down the tube now, or so it would seem to me. That may stretch out the distance that fiber optics could be used.I wonder if it could also be used as a strong insulator against loss of electromagnetic energy. Shielding batteries from EMP pulses. If it can affect light waves, all energy after all is just a different level of wave propagation.

Sort:  

I don't think fiber optics technology will have any need for a light-absorbing material. But the optical equipment that exist in space, such as the supersensitive infrared cameras need a material like vantablack to absorb any stray/unwanted light from getting to the camera.

I was thinking more along the lines of not allowing the light to leak from the fiber optic cable, or have other stray higher intensity light wavelengths from interfering with its own light signal, no signal loss thing.

Ok, you mean to form a sort of magnetic shield around the fiberoptics cables to reduce polarisation of light as it propagates along the medium? I doubt it can do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75