You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Battery: Giving Power when Needed

in #stemng6 years ago

Batteries are really cool especially for our cellphones which is basically an extension of ourselves and the current lithium ion batteries are just so inadequate I came across a news article about a high school girl who made a supercapacitor to replace cellular batteries Source I'd like to know your take on it, it's been awhile since she made the discovery how come current cellphones aren't making use of the technology?

Sort:  

It is probably due to complexity and the behavior of supercapacitors. It may be a joy to charge at extreme short period, but the voltage of a supercapacitor is not as stable as the conventional battery during discharge. In order to make that stable requires some control circuit which will invariably increase the complexity, and of course cost, of the device.

Okay, thanks for your explanation I think I understand it better now although I believe they should be working on a better solution to our current batteries since it is really an issue for most people.

On another note, I'm currently soliciting votes for my latest post nd I was wondering if you wouldn't mind reading and probably upvoting it

You are welcome. I will check your post tomorrow; the voting power down for today. Keep steeming :)

Ok Sir. Thanks In Advance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91