You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fundamentals of Hydroelectricity

in #stemng6 years ago

I think you've managed to include most aspects here. Not sure, but possibly it could have been profitable to split it up into two or more articles, like the turbin designs could have been an independent article.

I read in New Scientist a while ago that for new hydro dams, the methane emissions could actually bring a greater greenhouse effect than the equivalent amounts of CO2 one could get from a coal-driven powerplant. Part of the reason is that methane is considered a much more potent green-house gas than CO2.

I live in Norway, we get like 98% of our electricity from hydro dams - but most of those hydro dams was built long time ago, there aren't much new dams being built, particularly not of any reasonable size. One of the last one was in Alta, it caused quite some controversy

Sort:  

@tobixen, I really wished I could include the Turbine designs and more on the turbines as well as more types of turbine. However, my aim is to try to simplify Engineering topics for my readers (including the uninitiated). I believe talking extensively on the turbine could bore them. This is because I have observed that many do not really appreaciate STEM related posts and if it becomes to detailed they might lose interest.

However, I will consider your opinion and try to see how I can include more complicated details in a simplified manner in the future.

Concerning the Methane emission, what you read is correct. However not in all cases is the emission from hydro higher than that from burning fossils. All this is stated in a report published by the World Commision on Dam (WCD). Although, there are truly some cases where the emission from reservoirs exceed that of coal-driven power plant.

I learnt back as an undergraduate about Norway depending rely on hydro. It is just quite unfortunate that some good things come with demerits but if the dams in Norway are not in the tropics, the emission shouldn't be much.

Thanks for the linked shared. Its a good one for people to read. I really appreaciate your thoughtful contributions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 69344.75
ETH 3687.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.27