You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All your steem are belong to us

in #stopbegging6 years ago (edited)

100% agreed, people should stop begging and start finding proper ways to earn monies!

I appreciate your post
Please upvote and donate
Please resteem my comment so that others will find me and upvote me and donate


LOL, the other day I circlejerked about this and got a flag because someone couldn't identify satire. :D


Edit: I got thinking about this and the problem seems way more serious than I had thought. Taking into account the number of active users, the amount of Steem, the size of people's upvotes and the percentage of people who are not Haejin-like (who instead use their power to support others) is a really small part in proportion to what would be needed to give people enough appreciation to make the platform affordable for everyone.

It's only affordable for the exceptionally dedicated to the platform. Curation and such can solve a part of it; smarts and research, another part. But would it really hypothetically be possible to achieve a basic income for every active decent-quality user on Steemit?

Sort:  

Well, of course the price of steem would matter.

I don't think steem was ever intended to provide a basic income for everyone. It is a social site, where you get some of the rewards.

Yeah, that's true. However, a lot of people come to Steemit as if it were a way to become millionaires. Not only can you earn money, you can earn cryptocurrencies, and cryptocurrencies are exploding and are going to make everyone a millionaire! (right? right? wait, Economics101, where are you going!)

I think the idea that it is Steem's job to make a bunch of people millionaires is part of what fuels the idea that some people are failing.

To me the win is for the person who makes .10 cents writing something they wanted to write about anyway.

Or creating a book club, or making a video and fine tuning the skill set that goes in that.

I didn't realize so many people think they will get mega rich on SteemIt, to be honest, I think that will happen to very few people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91