You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Are People Using For Data Storage?

in #storage5 years ago

I use a mixture of services. For larger items you cant beat local storage for performance but then you have to think about safeguarding that data. I use a service called Backblaze which is a client based backup to cloud solution. Unlimited data for around $6 a month. Backblaze will backup any storage that is connected to your licensed machine.

I then use the likes of icloud and onedrive for files i want to share between machines; I share items between a mixture of Windows, Mac and Android devices. I have a few TBs of storage available through these which is more than enough for me.

You can consider the likes of Google S3 for archiving items you may not need any more but dont want to remove.

Sort:  

I haven't even heard of Google s3. Appreciate your comment, man!

I'll note it isn't free but is pretty cost effective; the cost varies depending on the service you use. Infrequent access services cost $0.01 GB up to 50TB if I remember correctly.

I like to spread my data about as much as possible for safety reasons. Also it's great to whack it into services where you do not map a drive - mapping drives is a real security issue hence why I like services like OneDrive. This keeps you safe if you end up being hit with ransomware or similar which will work its way through the drive letters on a device.

U are a smart man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Or somebody who learnt the hard way :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86