EDWARD POTTER

in #store6 years ago

PROLOGUE

Far away beyond the great mountains laid a mighty kingdom with a formidable king who was feared by his subjects and respected by Emperors and Dukes of the surrounding kingdoms.King Potter Cosmas was known to be a strict Ruler with a heart of gold; An altruistic man who had been tried so many times yet was discovered to have no weaknesses, for he could not be swayed by money nor women but alias, kindness seemed to be his only weakness.On the eve of his 45th birthday, while taking a stroll along the city gate at the east where the scholars met to be taught, he was greeted by loud yells and noise. From afar, he spotted a young lad chased by a gang of men for what appeared to be an offence he’d committed. He chased after them and soon caught up with them. They stopped hitting the lad when they recognized the personality in front of ‘em but not even the king was gonna save him for his crime.“What is it that’s causing chaos in my kingdom?”. The king asked.“It’s the boy, he stole from our stale and tried to escape. He can’t go unpunished even as a boy, the law forbids that a criminal should go unpunished. “And what constitution bids you to harm a defendless lad?”“Sire, criminals should not be allowed to roam the surface of our land freely else they cause mayhem and this boy as innocent as he looks could grow up to become one of the biggest nightmare of our kingdom if not dealt with”.“I agree with you. Said King Potter, then he rode gently towards the boy, what do they call you, boy?”. “I have no name but the villagers call me Nemaste for I was picked up from a trashbin at Nemaste. If His Majesty would forgive me, I’d commit no crime no more, I promise”.“ Where are your parents?”“I never met them” said he.Moved with pity, King Potter paid the men for the goods the boy had stolen and took home the stranger to live with him in the palace along with his sons. On his birthday after he’d introduced him as the least of his sons, he named him Edward. So, Prince Edward lived with the king and his family and that is how the chronicle began.


THE CHRONICLE

Several years passed, the boy who was picked up from the street merged well with royalty and it soon became impossible to identify which son was adopted and which is of royal blood. King Potter became so attached to Edward even more than his sons that at many junctures, this had created a bone of contention between him, his sons and their mother. ‘It looks like some day you will declare Edward crown prince in place of your oldest son Jerome”. Queen Heridian said.“Don't be mistaken lady, because am so attached to the boy doesn’t mean i love my sons less. A father’s love is always enough to go round”. He’d mused. Prince Edward was greatly admired by all, the queen and the princes all loved him as well as the people.More than 20,000 000 leagues away due North, a coup was being strategize. Since King Potter could not be betrayed by his Noblemen nor official, a fight would have to break forth. Emperor Jude had had eyes for Potter’s throne, his wife and kingdom since his youth but he’d never had his way and now that he had someone inside, now that he had a leak, victory was finally guaranteed.On the 25th day of the sixth month, three days to prince Edward’ 27th birthday, Edward cooked for the king (it had become a ritual for Edward to cook for the king and queen on the nights preceding his birthday). As King Potter ate that night, he asked “And what favour shall you ask of the king on the morrow?”“I would bid your Highness to speak not in parables for i understand not what he says”. King Potter laughed, then replied. “You are my son and as your 27th birthday present, I shall grant you any request you shall ask of me”‘‘I shall ponder on what i should ask from father’’, Edward replied.That night, Edward was restless, the time had finally come he thought but sooner than expected and now he would accomplish the plan that brought him to Eghastan.At his chamber, King Potter laid too, sleepless, wondering what his youngest son would ask of him but could not perceive what surprise awaited him.So, on the 28th day of the sixth month; seventeen years since Edward got adopted as  Prince, just as planned, Edward made a request to the King, a request the king, his family nor people could forget in haste.On the large paraquin where the royal family sat, the palace maid had decorated to the queen’s taste. She had wanted everything to be in place to give her youngest son a pleasure he would never forget.After the palace musicians sang and danced to the delight of the King, Potter made a promise that he would grant any request Edward made of him. Thus, Edward stood up, the words seemed heavy in his mouth but he had to say it. “I wish to be king for 22days”, he said.   Silence fell on the whole hall as if a group of cricket making noise were silenced.The king’s noble men were dumbfounded, no one seem to have anything to say except glancing at each other in utter confusion. Edward couldn't repeat himself because he knew what trouble he'd caused. The king stood up as all eyes were on him at the moment then he proclaimed. “I swear by my throne that I shall abdicate and shall crown you king for 22days beginning from this moment.”The queen could not believe her ears neither the four princes, nor the noble men and the subjects. They respected the king for honoring his words but not his madness. “The king’s oldest son Jerome is supposed to be king after him, but Edward won't reign forever except for 22days”. Some murmured.Immediately Edward was coronated, and authority as king given to him, he declared that the south gate of the city which had not been opened for 32years be opened. The south gate acted as a fortress against their enemies. Once the gate was opened, Emperor Jude and his warriors matched in and  Eghastan was raided just as it was envisioned seventeen years ago.Emperor Jude and his men beseiged the land and Potter and his warriors were taken unawares. The king was sent to the darkest dungeon and his eyes were to be plucked off in two days. His four sons were to be hanged in 22 days and his wife remarried on the day when Jude was to be coronated. Finally, Jude (i mean, king Jude of Eghastan) would get the throne. He’d said seventeen years ago “Anything Jude, son of Hercules wants, he gets”.On the third day of the reign of king Edward, king Potter eyes were to be plucked off and just as the executionist  was about to do so, Edward stepped in and stopped him. Jude wasn't happy but Edward said he had his plans.He walked close to King Potter starring at him in disdain as Potter was dirty from not bathing for two days.“I would never believe you could be a traitor”. Potter said.“That’s because you weren't wise enough. As a child, i heard that kindness was your weakness but i’d never thought you that foolish to adopt a boy you knew nothing about”. “Kill me at once boy, said Potter, for my honor has been ripped off. I’d rather die at the hands of my son than by my archenemy’s, at least it'll be better if it’s said that love killed me than that my enemy did”. Edward stared him straight in the eye but made no move. King Jude laughed so hard that he choked. “Well, well, let me do the honor”, he said. “No father, I shall, it’ll be a pleasure sliting his throat: my father should not behead my father, i shall do so because I belong to my father. I am the son of my father”.Potter understood what he meant as did Jude. This was a popular cliche Edward liked using especially when he meant business. “I shall behead you on the day which the princes, (he looked at Jude, chuckled and said)   “my brothers” (then looked back at King Potter with a serious face), are to be hanged, that i promise”. And his words echoed like thunder and lightening in the earth and the entire kingdom was set ablaze and gripped with fear.King Jude sent words to his Noblemen and officials to prepare to almagamate Acklang and Eghastan and build him a palace on the border in between the two kingdoms. Slaves were to be made of any subjects of Eghastan who objected to his rule. The young unmarried women of Eghastan were to bath in perfume and assemble before him on the 25th day so he could choose his consort and concubines from amongst them.Yet, deep beneath the palace, in the dungeon, King Potter sat on the floor with a heavy heart. He’d brought catastrophe on himself and his nation. He remembered the trader’s words “this little boy as innocent as he looks, could grow up to become one of the biggest………” and his heart leapt.He had faith in Edward, he knew the little boy he’d raised and was not going to let fear nor sadness shake that faith and hope. Days flew by too slow for Jude and too fast for Potter but at last the 22nd day came to dawn.King Edward servant dressed him up for the execution, he looked at his reflection on the mirror and brushed the crown on his head. He looked so much like his father or foster father, handsome and calm. He smiled at that thought but inside he was shaken with fear. He didn't want to make any mistakes.He met his older brothers and father at the palace square. They all looked unkempt, he felt his heart leap but he controlled it and walked past them to his father. Though the 2nd prince spat at him when he walked past them but he ignored him, walked to his father, stood close and addressed the people.“Today, i will return the crown to its rightful owner, Jude smiled, and i shall have the king and his “son” (not sons) beheaded just as promised”. Let the execution begin, King Jude set the executionist to work but just as the man was about to release the hilt of the sword, “STOP” Edward ordered.“I promised i shall hand over the crown to my father and should do that first so he can have his enemy beheaded as he wishes”. He moved close to Jude who smiled then took off the crown and walked closer to Potter and placed the crown on his head. “ I never fail, cos i am the son of my father,  I’m sorry dad, i had to play along, He said. Potter smiled, now the staff of authority had been given back to him, he ordered king Jude to be caught but Jude wouldn't let that happen. War broke out, Jude’s warriors were now out numbered. King Potter fought with all his might and just as an arrow from no where was flying towards Jude, Edward ran in and got speared. The war was over, everywhere seemed calm. Jude drew near to kill Potter but Edward pulled in again and got pierced then Pottet got the chance to stab Jude. Then he knelt close to Edward, lifted his head up and tears dropped from his eyes. Edward smiled, “Am sorry father, everything was set up”. Potter smiled.“I know, he said. I knew about it from the moment i saw you.“How?Instinct”, he replied.“I hope you can forgive me”. Edward said.“You traitor!!”. Jude yelled.“Why did you do that? Why get hurt for Jude”“Cos he is still my father and his blood flows in my veins”.“Then why do it for me?”“ Because you are my father, blood or not”.“And you are my son, blood or no blood”.Edward smiled “I am the son of my father” he said.Jude drew close, “Nicholas”.“It's Edward” said Edward “Prince Edward Potter” he added, smilling at Potter.“Though I hate you now but you must live, live my son”.‘No, i can't bear to look my father in the eye after betraying him but I'm sure peace will reign in Eghastan from now’.“Edward you are still my son and you must live” said Potter.“I just noticed today, i resemble you a lot, “ father”.Potter cried more “That’s because you truly are the son of your father, my son, you are my flesh and blood and i love you so dearly”.“Then forgive me father”‘I do’Edward smiled, ‘Then i shall rest in peace’‘I shall not let that happen’.“I started this so i must end it. Loving me is enough but my love for you is not enough father. You are a just king and I'm proud of you”.“Am proud of you too”.“You do not know how much i longed to hear you say that, my king”.“I shall say that all the days of your life and I…….his voice trialled but Edward was gone.King Potter almost lose it but had to control himself. He sobbed quietly then let out a wail. Emperor Jude was mute, He crawled close to his son, fiddled his hands, cried too bite his hands on the veins and gave up the ghost.King Potter stood up and swore by the throne that he would not rest until he found whoever killed his son. The war was over and the bodies of king Jude and Edward were laid to rest.King Potter made it a weekly ritual to visit his son’s grave till he found the murderer. The man who’d killed Edward was one of king Potter’s official Sir Jackson who’d wanted to use the situation to his advantage. He’d thought he could stand afar, shoot King Potter, Jude and Prince Edward, boubd the Princes then claim the throne as the highest official.King Potter wanted to let him live but he couldn't because he’d sworn on his throne. He made sir Jackson die by dragging (ie being dragged on the road by a horse) but at the end of the day, that did not bring  Edward back to him.King Potter Cosmos lived the rest of his life cherishing and remembering his late son. He could never forget the young brave boy he’d met at the palace gate, the stranger who’d become his favourite sons and his only son who’d protected him to death. He couldn't hate Edward neither could he forget him. “He is truly the son of his father, he is my son”. He could be heard saying most times.

 THE END.

Sort:  

Congratulations @misterdianabasi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @misterdianabasi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56