Bed Time Stories / 7 - 10 - 18

in #stories6 years ago

The Visitor

So many times she felt it. Many times she swore she saw something or maybe someone. She would always pretend that she didn't, & then proceed to reason it away somehow or another. Then one night, as she stood there doing dishes, she felt it again. Even swore she saw something out of her peripherals. She paused ever so briefly, & then returned to doing the dishes. When her fortuitous thoughts began interrupting her from intentionally trying to dismiss what she felt & thought she saw, it spoke.

"It's time", it said to her. She paused with her hands in the water, & pretended that she heard nothing.

It then cleared it's throat. It didn't increase its volume, but it did stress the words more firmly as it repeated itself.

"It's time", it said for a second time.

Time for WHAT, she asked even though on some level she already knew. She just hadn't accepted it yet.

"You already know the answer to that", it said. "Turn around. Look at me."

I don't think so, she said. I don't acknowledge the voices that call my name, & I will not acknowledge you.

"You already are. By speaking to me. Who is it that you keep thinking you see in your peripherals? Why do you never turn full on to get a better look? So you can be certain of who you see. Do you think it will make it less real? I assure you, whether you look or not, it's quite real."

What difference would it make for me to turn full on? Every time I ever have in the past, whatever I THOUGHT I saw just vanished into thin air when I turned around, she explained. What would be the point if that's all that's going to happen? To make me feel like I'm losing my mind? To fuck with me? Why?

"Well, it is true that you ARE fun to screw with, but there's more to this than just that."

Look, she said, you don't belong here, you don't live here, you're just passing through, "visiting". You have to LEAVE!

"HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Okay. If you don't want to face ME, then turn in the other direction, & look DOWN."

Since she didn't see any harm in going the opposite direction, especially since it was AWAY from this voice, she decided to swing around & look. When she did, she froze in a weird combination of shock & acceptance as she saw her body lying on the floor. Lifeless.

"See why that was so funny NOW? I'M not the visitor. YOU are. Now then.... As I said..... It's time." ---Elaina D. Williams 7 - 10 - 18

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66892.89
ETH 3101.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74