My toughts on storj

in #storj7 years ago

Today I would like to talk about storj.Storj is a decentralized end to end encrypted cloud storage.Recently they changed from a counterwallet token to a ethereum based token.I tryed it for like 5 months and almost every day for about 8 hrs I rented 100 gb of storage.I now got 30 $ from it and if you would consider a electric bill and the hdd cost well it's quite not that good as others like sia or burst but still got some money from it.The downside to storj is that if you are offline for more than 5 days you won't get payout for that month. If you wan't to check it out you can at storj.io .

Sort:  

I would use storj a lot more if it had a web interface where you could actually upload data. Also, it makes sense to rent out HDD on servers that are connected to the network 24/7, like web servers are.

That's true.The upload is hard and webservers aren't 24/7 as they can have downtime or you can host webserver on your pc and I'm sure you wont let your pc 24/7

Just set up a storj node to try it out. Pretty cool in terms of a way to use un-used space, there is just not enough market potential there yet. The storj team pointed me to an app that is alpha but ready to check it out which is kind of a dropbox-like client to use the system. Haven't tried it yet though

You mean the filezilla beta app?

No another one using Python QT. Filezilla integration is also nice but since I am on a mac and use Cyberduck I'm still waiting for something I can use

Congratulations @aleksssboss157! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67