Short story initiative - A story in under 300 words

in #story-300words6 years ago (edited)

I would like to invite all Steemians to write a short fiction story in under 300 words. I will try to read them all. I may vote some - or all - or at least vote the best ones. No guarantees though. It depends on my voting power which I would like to keep above 70%. You can see my voting power here, as well as what a 100% vote could be worth. If I vote you, which is not guaranteed, then my vote will be at least 1% strength, but could be up to 100% if my voting power permits it.

Anyone can participate. The story can be in any language. Please consider the benefits of also including an English translation, using Google translate.

Before, or after, you write your own story, please encourage others - especially newbies

Rules

  1. The first tag must be "story-300words"
  2. The story must be less than 300 words long
  3. Your original work only. No plagiarism (copying stories from the internet)
  4. Last day for this initiative is 8th January 2018

Fiction:

From Wikipedia:

  • Fiction is the classification for any story or setting that is derived from imagination—in other words, not based strictly on history or fact.

To get things going, here is my short story. It is 247 words long.

Short Story in less than 300 words

.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 15.36.33.png
It was midday in the scorching sun. The road was long and deserted. Two adults and a young boy had been walking for 3 days.

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 08.11.57.png
Image Source

For food they had eaten olives, berries and leaves. The water bag was nearly empty.

They came across an olive tree and lay down to rest in its shade.

olive-tree-1595493_1920.jpg
Image source

Presently, a Roman Centurion and his young son passed by. They also took refuge under the olive tree.

rome-2350633_1920.jpg
Image Source

The Israeli boy started to play with the Roman boy.

“Don’t talk to Romans”, warned his mother. “It’s Ok”, replied the Centurion, “On this road, we’re just people”.

The children ignored their parents’ comments.

“I see you are out of water,” said the Centurion. He lifted his water bag and poured some into the couple’s bag. It was an unusual act of kindness. You wouldn’t expect it from a Roman soldier.

There was nobody here to judge.

The two young children carried on playing together, oblivious to their different backgrounds.

As the sun started to go lower, it was time to get going. The Israelis started to gather their things. They thanked the Centurion for his kindness and set off. Nazareth was still a long way to go.

As they parted in different directions, the Jewish boy turned and shouted to the Roman boy, “I’m Jesus. What’s your name, by the way?”

The Roman boy turned and shouted back, “Thanks for playing with me! I hope we can meet again. My name’s Pilate – Pontius Pilate.”

The End

Word count: 247

Explanation of the above story

At the beginning of the story you do not know the names of the characters. Then at the end, I drop the first clue “Nazareth” - which is well known to be the home town of Jesus Christ. You can maybe guess that the family are Mary and Joseph with Jesus as a boy.

You still can’t guess the other boy’s name.

The punch line - the one which is set to get you thinking - comes when we discover the other boy’s name is Pontius Pilate.

I don’t need to write any more as the rest of the story has already been told.

As many will know, Pontius Pilate, who became the Emperor, was best known for overseeing the trial and crucifiction of Jesus Christ.

At the end my story isn’t finished. It is part of one of the best selling books in the world - The Holy Bible.

There is no suggestion that this incident actually happened. It is fiction. Just a story. It’s not in the bible.

To see all 300 word stories written as part of this initiative, click here.

Please don’t forget to comment on other people's stories rather than just focussing on your own. #story-300words

Sort:  

What a captivating story. It is as if it should not end.

The never ending story. You got my 100% vote for the best comment!

Oh thank you! Thank you!! and Thank you!!! Actually i enjoyed the story,but now i enjoy it even more. I think I've gotten a topic to write my less than 300 words story on base on this early morning blessing. I hope you like my story much more than you did for my comment? Hug

Nice steemit power

Yes ooo. She is a blessing to me.

I am very happy for the work you have been doing to encourage the community to give their best, to be authentic, it is good to be encouraged if they receive rewards, and you are very good for that, may God continue to bless you, I do not know if I am time to make a story, but I hope everyone who participates does a good job. Greetings friend, continue like this, God bless you.

Maybe there is a story you tell to your children that you invented? Thank you and happy steeming...

Yes, I told my daughters stories, but I do not know if I qualify, since they are simple and short, they would have to put more creativity, but they would take it into account, today I go to my mother to sew, I have to follow the seams, not I know if you have visited my blog, I have shared interesting topics, but they are in Spanish.

I am no longer surprised to read this publication, every time I see your blog
I see the precise progress in the work you are doing for the STEEMIT community. This will make many people do the right thing (create original content). That's what it is about. I really appreciate the time you spend writing a story, and I appreciate much more than what mentions Jesus, the savior of humanity. I will be participating in your project.

That’s really great! I hope you can think of a nice story English/Spanish

perfect, I'll be working on that. I will try to do a mixed work, I will capture a story that did not escape from reality.

I'm very new to Steemit, but I really am touched by how people not only work together with such giving spirits, but also acknowledge the other's attitude. That is a very new aspect to me, in life I mean. So nice!

Hi @swissclive, What a great idea!

It's a way to educate newcomers and minnows to write good and original content. The final prize is an incentive to try to do their best, but i think that upvotes can also came from others people who read their posts.

I really am grateful that you would do that for Steemit community, Without an ulterior motive!!

Resteemed for more visibility, in the Italian community too.

Great idea, if I can come up with something good, I will join :)

For now I can offer a non-fictional story with 256 words - I promise, it's awesome: A little story of how gratitude leads to great things... [EN/GER]

Greets :)

I read your non-fiction story - which is indeed great and I upvoted it.

If you can write a fiction story in under 300m words, please don't forget to use the tag "story-300words", so I can find it quickly and easily by clicking on the above tag.

Thanks for reading it :)
Sure, I will! Already have an idea!

I am not writer but i really appreciate your work

lol I seriously don't know how you are doing this?!? Your last initiative on newbie posts was incredible. I read through your entire post and I have no idea how you could possibly get through everything that came through there. That was pretty amazing to say the least. I appreciate what you're doing to grow the platform.

As for this, it's perfect timing for me. :-) I just wrote my second ever story yesterday for the @STACH contest. I hope you don't mind me plugging it. I can edit it out if you do. Anyway, I've linked it below. That contest is only 199 words max so it will be a quick read for you. Thanks again for all you do. It's much appreciated.

https://steemit.com/stach/@dagger212/a-christmas-dream-short-story-by-dagger-stach-short-story-contest-15

Hi @dagger212 If you edit your story, you can change one of the tags to "story-300words", or just add that tag, and then the story will qualify for entry in this initiative.
I upvoted you here for the time being.

Oh, wonderful! Thank you! Some good stories so far. I've only read a couple but upvoted one at least. I'll try and change/add the tag now.....Done! It worked! What do you know....:-) Still so much to learn here.......

I used to write short stories when I was younger, but reality slowly snatched my creativity away with graceful stealth. I may not have it in me (since I may not have it in the first place), but I'd really like to try. After all, there's no harm in trying, right?

Thanks once again for this great initiative!

Well it's only 300 words. Don't forget -everyone has a story - to tell the children - or to tell your mates. I hope you will participate. Good luck if you do!

Yey! I was able to get my mind running (somehow). My short story is found here. Thank you very much once again for the opportunity!

Such great contest @swissclive, thank you!
And your story is amazing! I enjoy very much!
Here is my short story:
https://steemit.com/story-300words/@ir3k/a-story-in-under-300-words-to-believe-in-destiny

Can I write a second one and post it?

I resteem.
Good luck to you!
Happy New Year!

You can write as many stories as you want. It must be fiction and very original I.e. a story you made in your head, not the re-telling of someone else’s story. Thanks for the resteem.

Thanks, I like originality!

original story writing would be quite difficut i thought... But by reading your story...its was so much simple and meaningful, and to the point..even though my english is weak but then also i understood line by line meaning...i will also try to write it in my own simple words as you use...thanku you for providing us these all opportunities dear..no one has this much time to motivate new comers but i have seen that you always come up with new and interesting ideas for motivating newbies...thanku on behalf of all the newbies...

Am definately going to give this a shot, if i win so be it and if i dont well i love contest so i just keep coming back.
Thanks @swissclive for your previous contest you are a darling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82