"I MARRIED A MAD MAN — (PART 1)- EPISODE THREE

in #story6 years ago

image
Source

I hung out with Vanessa for a while before she
said she had to leave. I could understand
because she had been there with me for a few
hours. I ended up smiling after all her cheering
up which got me more relaxed. I couldn’t help
but thank her as I watched her get into the car
before driving off. I went back into the house,
cleaned up the glasses and drinks I had served
my friend, before going into my bedroom. I
carried my work bag to my bed and brought out
some files that needed to be reviewed. As I was
going through them, I paused and looked at my
phone. It was past 5:00pm and I hadn’t heard
from David. I sighed when I remembered what
Vanessa had said, “He’s a grown man and I’m
sure he’ll know how to take care of himself.” I
just still didn’t feel right but I didn’t want to
stress it, so I let it be.
I woke up with my files still opened all over the
bed. I must have fallen asleep, I thought to
myself. I looked at the time and it was almost
10:00pm, not a sign of David. I didn’t want to
think too much so I packed my files back into my
work bag and headed for the kitchen to dish out
something to eat since I had only eaten the
plantain and egg that I ate with Vanessa. I got
into the kitchen, brought out the stew I had
made the previous day to warm it up. I quickly
cut slices of yam and kept it on the cooker to
boil. While I was waiting for the food, I went into
the sitting room to watch TV. I put it on and the
first thing that came up was the show, My
Fairytale wedding. I couldn’t help but hiss, not
because of anything in particular but because it
reminded me of too many things.
I changed and changed channels until I settled
for the TV series, Jenifa’s Diary. I managed to
brighten up when I started watching it because I
started laughing with tears in my eyes that I
didn’t know when my husband walked in. The
first thing he said to me, when I looked up to him
was; “I hope you’re checking what you kept on
the cooker,” before he went into our bedroom. I
was partly shocked about his appearance but I
jumped up realizing that I had forgotten the yam
I kept on the cooker. I rushed into the kitchen,
opened the pot and saw that the water was
almost dried but the food wasn’t burning so I
was relieved. I sieved the remaining water from
the pot of yam before setting it back down to
cool. I got into the room to find David undressing
when I asked if he wanted me to served his
food. He would usually say he wasn’t hungry but
surprising he nodded and gave me the go ahead
to dish his food out. This made me smile a bit, I
wasn’t sure why but I did. Although I got a little
angry because another public holiday was
wasted with no communication between me and
my husband.
I dished his food out first and set it on the table
before going to dish out mine. He called me
back and insisted that I eat with him instead so I
went to sit with him surprised again. I took one
the cutleries from its stand and sat with him to
eat. We ate in silence for a while before I spoke
out; “How was your day David?” I asked but later
on, thinking that I shouldn’t have asked because
the next thing he said was;
“Can’t someone enjoy a meal in peace? You want
to start with your interrogations eh?”
I looked at David with shock written all over my
face, not knowing what to even say next except
apologize and continue with the meal in silence.
At least he didn’t get so angry and stand up, so I
thought to myself. I didn’t even want to look at
his face as we ate together. It wasn’t long when
we ran out of yam and I asked David if he
wanted some more but he declined so I packed
up the plates and went into the kitchen. I was
happy to be away from his presence for a while.
This wasn’t supposed to be so but ever since
David’s attitude changed, it had been difficult to
actually face him and just be in the same room
with him, let alone talk to him. I couldn’t believe
what was happening but I had to calm down.
When I was done with cleaning up the dishes, I
put out the kitchen light. As I got to the sitting
room to head for our bedroom, I saw David on
the couch watching TV so I slowly walked away.
I went to take a shower before climbing in bed. I
turned the main lights off, then put on the side
lamps just in case David came in and didn’t want
to turn on the main lights. I pulled the duvet to
my shoulder before closing my eyes and drifting
into the night.
About an hour later, I woke up to some
movements. I knew David had just walked into
the room. He put out the side lamps before
climbing in bed. I had been backing him with my
eyes closed when he came up behind me and
held my waist. By that move, I knew he was
demanding for sex. As much as it was the last
thing I wanted to do with him, I didn’t want to
deny him of it so I turned and let him take
charge.
The next morning, I woke up around 5:00am to
do my household duties before preparing for
work. David usually woke up two hours after I
was awake so I tried to clean the house as
much I could, prepare breakfast for him, before
going to prepare for work. By the time David was
waking up, I had just finished from the shower so
I quickly dressed up because I didn’t want to run
late. When I was done dressing up, I let David
know that I had set his food on the dining table.
He kissed me on the forehead and then I left the
house. I got to work just a few minutes before
our first meeting of the day. We were having a
meeting with the CEO of the company
concerning some issues that arose between an
employee and a customer. The issue had
escalated so bad that the employee was brought
before an audience and the customer almost
sued the company. Anyway, the CEO, Mr. Francis
was a nice man who once helped me out in a
situation some time ago. That morning he only
wanted have a discussion with every employee
so it didn’t turn out as bad as people had
already predicted. After the meeting, he called
me aside and said he needed to speak to me
since I was the Managing director of the
company.
As I got to meet him, he let me know about his
thoughts and decision on what happened in order
to prevent such from happening again. I also
gave him my suggestion since I was asked and
so we both talked about a few things before
coming up with a solution. I left his presence,
having taken down my tasks for that moment. I
had a long day of work so I was very busy with a
lot of things though my thoughts drifted to my
husband who I thought about often. I
remembered last night and how awkward it had
been between David and I. I shook off the
thought when someone knocked on my door and
in came the secretary who brought in a file.
Another file that was to be added to my pile. I
went over a few of them before leaving my office
for lunch break. I went into the company’s
cafeteria and walked up to Cynthia who was
standing at the counter. I looked around the food
displayed in the food trays and shelves looking
for something to eat. After standing for about
two minutes, I decided to have meat pie and a
drink. I collected the snack after I had paid, and
made my way to one of the seats in the
cafeteria. I sat down, checking the time on my
phone before digging in and enjoy my first meal
for the day. I didn’t notice when Mr. Francis
came up and sat on the same table where I was
seated. I was quite surprised to see him there or
maybe he should have been the one to be
surprised because I was rarely in the cafeteria.
When he was settled in his chair, I greeted him
and he responded. I told him that I was quite
surprised to see him at the cafeteria because he
was our ‘oga’ and he said to me;
“Well…this ‘oga’ is also a human being like the
rest. Isn’t it madam?”
I nodded and smiled. We chatted for a while but
I had to go because I still had lots to do so I left
him for my desk after excusing myself.
....
...
..
.
Watch out for next episode...

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by AAU Thespian-Steemnaira/Critic X from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94