"I MARRIED A MAD MAN — (PART 1) EPISODE TWO

in #story6 years ago (edited)

image
Source

I screamed in annoyance as tears began to fall from my eyes. After about two minutes, I stood up and managed to go clean up including the floor that David had messed up with his vomit. He was still laying there and I couldn’t do anything. I just sat on the couch and watched as he snored in his deep sleep. I didn’t know what to do with David. He all of a sudden just changed. He gets drunk, he hits me and I won’t be surprised if he messes with other women while he’s out. I hadn’t spoken to anyone about
it, not even my family except one of my friends,
Vanessa who I trusted with my life.
Vanessa had always been like a sister to me, the
one who was always there in times of my
trouble. I was never left alone in any challenging
situation. I picked up my phone, left the sitting
room to the bedroom before calling Vanessa. It
was about one o’clock in the morning. I knew it
was late but I needed to talk to someone. I
called her and immediately she responded.
“Isabella, what’s up? Are you okay?” Vanessa
said in a sleepy tone.
I told her I was fine and about what was up with
David. She only told me not to worry that she
would be at my house the next day. We talked
for a while before I bade her goodnight. I headed
for the sitting room with the duvet and pillows in
our bedroom and used it to warm David up while
he was sleeping on the floor. I couldn’t wake him
up when he was drunk neither could I carry him
so that was all I could do for him that night. I
retired for my room and sat up on my bed
thinking and thinking. I couldn’t sleep until it was
about five o’clock in the morning. Luckily for me,
that day was a public holiday so I didn’t have to
bother going to work.
I woke up about fifteen minutes to eleven that
morning feeling really tired and weak to even get
out of bed. I managed to say a prayer before
jumping out. After using the washroom, I went
into the sitting room to find David still sleeping. I
didn’t want to disturb him so I went into the
kitchen to prepare breakfast instead. I made
some sauce with rice and set it aside before
going to clean the house. I was almost done
when I saw him stand up, taking the pillows and
duvet with him to the room. I only watched from
the corner where I had been cleaning the side
stool. Immediately he left, I waited for about five
minutes before heading to the room to see what
he was up to. I guessed that he must have
entered the shower since that was the first thing
he liked to do whenever he woke up in the
morning. I entered and I guessed right, his
clothes were on the floor and I could hear the
shower running. I picked up his clothes and put
them into the laundry basket, then headed to the
kitchen to dish out his food. Just then, I heard
the bell ring and since I was expecting Vanessa,
I guessed it was her. I peeped through the door
hole and found Vanessa standing there. I was so
happy she was around. After opening the door
and greeting each other, we proceeded to the
kitchen. I made Vanessa wait for me while I
went to set David’s food on the dining table.
Minutes later, I went into our bedroom to let
David know that his food was on the dining table
and as I was about to leave, he held me back.
He apologized as usual for what he had done
earlier and asked me to forgive him. I didn’t even
object or say anything. I only nodded my head,
after all, it wasn’t the first time. He hugged me
and kissed me on the forehead before letting me
go. I finished up the cleaning and let Vanessa
know that I wanted to quickly take a shower so
she waited for me in the sitting room.
After I was done taking a shower and dressing
up, I went into the sitting room and found David
eating on the dining table while Vanessa was
sitting on the couch trying to keep herself busy.
It was an awkward moment when I walked in.
Not that, Vanessa hadn’t met David or they
didn’t sort of know each other but it just felt a
certain type of way. Maybe it was just me
feeling that way after what happened the night
before. I joined Vanessa and asked if she wanted
to eat so I could dish out her food but she only
smiled and said she came for me and not for
anything else. We couldn’t really talk much about
anything neither could we discuss about what I
really wanted to talk about so I asked questions
concerning her, her family and Job. Although she
wasn’t married, she still lived with her parents.
In less than six minutes, David was done eating
and he stood up carrying the tray to the kitchen.
I went up to him and tried to help him with it but
he insisted that he would take it since I had a
visitor. So I let him and headed back to meet
Vanessa. I still wasn’t relaxed because I knew
David would be leaving the house soon to some
place again that I knew nothing of. He came in
through the sitting room and headed to our
bedroom and just like I guessed, he came out
with his car keys, walking back to the kitchen
where the back door was situated. I stood up
again and followed him to the kitchen before
asking him where he was going to and as usual,
his reply was;
“I’ll be back soon, just take care of the house.”
I pleaded and asked David if he cared for me to
know where he was going to so I could at least
have an idea if anything happened to him but his
reply again was;
“Are you hoping something bad would happen to
me? I will be back soon, don’t worry.”
Immediately he said this, I knew there was
nothing I could do again so I watched him leave
the house. I went back in and apologized to
Vanessa for leaving her behind but I knew she
understood. She assured me that nothing would
go wrong and to keep faith. I told her that I was
not only uncomfortable about him getting into
trouble or being in danger but I felt in my heart
that he was cheating on me. I told her that I was
scared that my marriage would come to an end.
I told her how scared I was because I thought
maybe it was my fault we didn’t have children. I
told that I was scared of so many things while
tears were rolling down from my eyes. Vanessa
held me close and consoled me.
“You need to stop being so hard on yourself.
Haba! How can you be saying all these things?
Your husband is not cheating on you, I’m sure of
that. Even if he has changed, I’m certain he still
loves you not to hurt you. And how would you
know if it is your fault that you can’t get
pregnant? There can be many reasons you
haven’t gotten pregnant. Don’t just lose hope like
that now. I mean if the worse comes to the
worse, there are many ways you can have
children now. Everything will be alright my dear.
Just give it time.” Vanessa said.
There were so many things I wanted to say but
words failed me at that moment. Only tears
could come out of it all. I thought about a lot of
things. How good I tried to be to my husband
despite the fact that he violated me several
times. It was because I loved him. I loved David
with all my heart and hoped that our marriage
would never end in divorce. I still wanted to have
children with him. I still wanted to celebrate ten,
twenty, thirty years’ anniversary with him. All I
wanted was the old David that would declare his
love every single day for me. The David that
would never even in his dreams try to hit me.
The David that would listen. The David that
cared. I used to hear from many people that
marriage cannot be the way it was at the
beginning but I knew that our marriage shouldn’t
be the way it was either. I knew and heard about
so many people way older than me in marriage
who enjoyed every single moment of their
blissful marriage. Why does mine have to be any
different? What was I doing wrong?
.......
......
....
..
.
Watch Out For Next Episode...

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97